Monsters and Conditions

By thiagolbahia, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Hi there,

So Errata says:

Q: How much damage (if any) does the Reanimate suffer from the Overlord card “Explosive Runes”?

A: Zero damage. The Reanimate automatically fails any attribute test, but since there is no attribute test rolled, the Reanimate does not suffer any damage from “Explosive Runes.”

This works on Monsters too? I mean, If monster suffers a condition like Poison? (atribute test fail, 1 dog).

Is so, Poison only works on lieutenants.

If not, Poison is a death sentence to the monster since it will take 1 dog per turn until death.

Thanks all.

Second choice : death sentence !

Indeed here if they fail the test (which is automatic because they don't have attributes) they suffer simply 1 [heart]
the damage is not based on the attribute test (as with "Explosive Runes") and that make all the difference !

How is different?

Damage is not based on the atribute test? Is it fails it gets dmg... just like the Explosive runes.

Sorry didn't catch that difference.

Poisoned : "At the start of your turn, test [Might]. If you pass, discard this card or token. If you fail, suffer 1 [Heart] and keep this card or token."

here if you fail you have one damage : point ! No dependance, no calculation.


Explosive Runes : "Play this card after a hero opens a door or searches. That hero, and each hero within 2 spaces of him tests [Awareness]. Each hero who fails suffers 1 [Heart] for each [shield] rolled in excess of his [Awareness]"

here depending on how you failled your damage will differ.
Indeed it's the attribute test roll himself (and the hero attribute) that will tell you how much damage the hero will take!
So in the case of the reanimated.. as there is no roll (because it has no attributes) there is no damage...

Hope it's more clear this time ! ;-)

Sorry, but your wrong. Monsters and Familiars still test but automatically fail, thus the failed effect takes place.

He is not wrong about the effect. What he is saying is that for a condition like poison, the damage does not depend on the attribute value- it is a simple pass = no damage, fail = 1 damage. The reanimate and monsters auto fail, so it is auto 1 damage.

For explosive runes, there is a damage calculation BASED ON THE ATTRIBUTE VALUE. Because the reanimate has no value, the calculation is impossible. That is, the reanimate's might is NOT zero (if it were, you could pass.) It does not have a might value. Therefore, you cannot say "it rolled 5, and 5 is 5 greater than a number that does not exist." It has no value, so it suffers no damage. For the exact same reason, the sentinel's "prey on the weak" does not trigger when it targets a reanimate. A reanimate's might is not less than 2, nor equal to 2, nor greater than 2, because it is not a number.

One might even say that the reanimate is so weak, it doesn't even have a strength of 0.

=p

Edited by Whitewing

One might even say that the reanimate is so weak, it doesn't even have a strength of 0.

=p

It is so weak that it doesn't even have a strength of zero. However, thanks to the wonderful dual fields of logic and math, that means he is unaffected by "less than" "greater than" statements.

So monsters do take the damage or effects from all conditions, unless the dmg or effect are related to a value from a fictional roll that never takes place,thus impossible do measure?

Yes. For example, poison and disease will do 1 damage to a monster every turn. So will burning. These conditions cannot be removed by test for monsters (or the reanimate,) the only way to remove them is a card like "Dark Remedy." LT's with attribute values can obviously remove conditions by testing since they don't auto-fail.

The things they don't take damage from are those that reference their value as a qualifier. So, "prey on the weak" says "Each of this monster's attacks targeting a hero with 2 or less Might gains +1 Heart. " A reanimate does not have 2 or less might, so prey on the weak does not trigger.

INTERESTINGLY, if "prey on the weak" said "this attack does +1 heart UNLESS the target's might is greater than 2," it would work on the reanimate, since that's a negative statement.

Explosive runes says "Each hero who fails suffers 1 Heart for each Shield rolled in excess of his Awareness ." A reanimate does not have an awareness, so the shields rolled are not a defined amount in excess of his awareness (you can't be in excess of something that doesn't exist." It that logical explanation doesn't do it for you, consider that the reanimate doesn't actually roll anything, he just fails the test- so there isn't an amount of shields even. For most heroes, it's "I rolled a 3, 3= pass." or "I rolled a 4, 4= fail." For the reanimate, it's just "I fail."

Edited by Zaltyre

Sorry, but your wrong. Monsters and Familiars still test but automatically fail, thus the failed effect takes place.

Probably, because english is not my native language I didn't write the words as I should...

But I don't see where I'm wrong ?

On my first answer I said just what you are saying that Monsters automatically fail (ok I did't had added Familiars.. but I haven't added Agents, nor servants ... either)

And as Zaltyre pointed out.. my second answer was to explain why "Poisoned" and "Explosive Runes" where not the same and why it was incorrect to try using "Explosive Runes" rules to apply them to Poisoned or to any other effect that deals direct fixed damage (not linked to attributes calcuations, ...)

So don't hesitate to point me out what make you think I was wrong so I will do better next time! ;-)

Sorry, but your wrong. Monsters and Familiars still test but automatically fail, thus the failed effect takes place.

Probably, because english is not my native language I didn't write the words as I should...

But I don't see where I'm wrong ?

On my first answer I said just what you are saying that Monsters automatically fail (ok I did't had added Familiars.. but I haven't added Agents, nor servants ... either)

And as Zaltyre pointed out.. my second answer was to explain why "Poisoned" and "Explosive Runes" where not the same and why it was incorrect to try using "Explosive Runes" rules to apply them to Poisoned or to any other effect that deals direct fixed damage (not linked to attributes calcuations, ...)

So don't hesitate to point me out what make you think I was wrong so I will do better next time! ;-)

Eh, sorry, perhaps I should have read it better. I was basically saying that even if figures don't have attributes, they still have to test. But if they test, then it's considered a failure. But I guess that was already established.