Sneak Attack + Gandalf Question

By Dsbessie, in Rules questions & answers

Just want to make sure this move was legal. Was my first try at Journey Down the Auduin. I played sneak attack during the resource phase placing Gandalf in play and inflicting 4 damage on the Hill Troll. Then Gandalf comes back to my hand at the end of the resouce phase. Then I immediately put him into play as an ally for the planning phase inflicting another 4 damge?

Thanks,

Yes, that is a legal play.

Thanks for the quick response. Much appreciated.

yes a good play if you can manage it. usually by the time i would have enough resource to pay Gandalfs full non-sneak cost the hill troll is already quite busy engaged and running my threat through the roof hehe :)

well done for thinking up such a good combo early in your gaming.

Sneak attack question: if I play Gandalf during the Combat phase via sneak attack, and he is wounded but not killed, does he keep the damage when returned to my hand, or is the damage negated by the return?

He does not keep the damage. Cards in a player's hand cannot have tokens.