As the title says can a ship boost over an asteroid if it does not land on asteroid?
Boost over asteroid
Edited by Toqtamishnm
As the title says can a ship boost over an asteroid if it does not land on asteroid?
No.
See the very first page of the FAQ. Boost should include "A ship cannot boost if this would cause its base to overlap with another ship’s base or an obstacle token, or if the maneuver template overlaps an
obstacle token." as errata.
Edited by StevenO
As the title says can a ship boost over an asteroid if it does not land on asteroid?
Yes but you would possibly take damage.
actually the answer is no.
the movement template may not overlap another ship base or obstacle token
You can Daredevil, and possibly SLAM, through Obstacles.
You cannot Boost, Barrel-Roll, or Decloak through them.
As the title says can a ship boost over an asteroid if it does not land on asteroid?
Yes but you would possibly take damage.
The FAQ has updated rules for boosts and barrel rolls that make things much clearer, you may not boost if the ship's base would overlap either a ship or obstacle or if the maneuver template overlaps an obstacle.
So you can boost through another ship, but not through an obstacle. You have to pick a different action.
Aaand....triple ninja. Does that mean I win the jackpot?
Edited by Forgottenlore
This is not accurate. A boost is not a maneuver.
As the title says can a ship boost over an asteroid if it does not land on asteroid?
Yes but you would possibly take damage.
The FAQ has updated rules for boosts and barrel rolls that make things much clearer, you may not boost if the ship's base would overlap either a ship or obstacle or if the maneuver template overlaps an obstacle.
So you can boost through another ship, but not through an obstacle. You have to pick a different action.
Aaand....triple ninja. Does that mean I win the jackpot?
Yes, but the jackpot comes in the form of silent death flying in when you least expect it. Did you really want to win?
Yes, but the jackpot comes in the form of silent death....
Good game, Silent Death. Really liked their combat system. Overall I prefer X-Wing though.
Wonder if they could be merged. Silent Death had a good combat system but kind of a weak movement system, x-wing' strength is its movement. Hmmm...
Edited by ForgottenloreAs a TO, I get questions about boost all the time. And the common misconception is that you cannot boost or Barrel Roll through another ship. Page 1 of the FAQ clears debunks this. You MAY boost or barrel roll through another ship (so long as you clear the ship at the end of the boost or barrel roll. You MAY NOT boost or barrel roll through an obstacle, such as an asteroid. Phantoms have a special rule that states they CANNOT boost or barrel roll through a ship or obstacle. Stress also DOES NOT keep a ship from decloacking. (Page 3 of FAQ)
It may just be me but I think it's pretty hard to boost over a ship. Maybe just getting by a corner or it or angling away from an edge but actually getting over one is next to impossible because you'd still need to clear nubs using a template that's only as long as a base is wide.
As a TO, I get questions about boost all the time. And the common misconception is that you cannot boost or Barrel Roll through another ship. Page 1 of the FAQ clears debunks this. You MAY boost or barrel roll through another ship (so long as you clear the ship at the end of the boost or barrel roll. You MAY NOT boost or barrel roll through an obstacle, such as an asteroid.
We had to look this up again last week. I think its so hard to remember because it is different from ships to obstacles. Because boosts/rolls treat overlapping ships and obstacles similarly except for this single point, people have a hard time remembering. If it were just one way or the other for both it wouldn't be an issue.
Phantoms have a special rule that states they CANNOT boost or barrel roll through a ship or obstacle.
When doing their decloak maneuver. Very important distinction. A Phantom performing a BR as its action is just like any other ship.
Phantoms have a special rule that states they CANNOT boost or barrel roll through a ship or obstacle.
When doing their decloak maneuver. Very important distinction. A Phantom performing a BR as its action is just like any other ship.
Actually, that is not true. See here:
"A ship cannot decloak if it would overlap another ship or an obstacle token, or if the maneuver template would overlap an obstacle token."
So if the decloak has the ship end on another ship then it can not be done, just like a barrel roll or boost. But the template can be placed over a ship as long as the phantom has the distance to clear it.