******Ken******

By HolyDragonCloud, in UFS Rules Q & A

Though I'm sure I am right on this, it never hurts to ask:

The new Promo Ken's Enhance states:

This attack gets minus X damage. X equals half this attack's damage (rounded down)

Since it does not state printed damage, I presume the effect means whatever the damage of the attack is at the time of use of the Enhance, right?

that would be correct

So if an attack was at -5 damage, it would get -(-3) damage. (returning it to -2 damage).

Keen. I guess they learned nothing from Makato (though I still don't think Makato shoulda been errataed).

-5 - 3= -8 that is basic math

There's no point in cutting a negative value in half. You shouldn't even be doing that unless you need to increase the damage for a reason. It shouldn't ever be a big issue.

funny... it does work.... however the point is that it will never complete bring an attack from one side to another (positive to negative and visa versa)..... no big problems foreseen there.... have fun adding damage to your negative damage attack

and by the way majora..... -5 - (-3)= -2 proved by -5/2=-2.5 which is rounded down to -3 and then a when you subtract a negative its adding a positive

math works

dragoku said:

funny... it does work.... however the point is that it will never complete bring an attack from one side to another (positive to negative and visa versa)..... no big problems foreseen there.... have fun adding damage to your negative damage attack

and by the way majora..... -5 - (-3)= -2 proved by -5/2=-2.5 which is rounded down to -3 and then a when you subtract a negative its adding a positive

math works

Now, to keep me from making another topic, I has some questions about his second ability, which reads:

F Commit: Your opponent gains X vitality and commits X foundations. X cannnot be more than your opponent's maximum vitality minus their current vitality.

X can be any number I want, as long as I don't go over the proposed limit, right? Like if they're at like 3 life and have 5 foundations, I can have them just gain 5 and tap them out?

Also, let's say somehow one of the effects where cancelled (Red lotus, something that cancels life gain) does the other one still take effect regardless? Does this also apply with something that prevents it from happening (like a card that says players may not gain vitality for the rest of this turn or something.)

If I'm right about these ken is HOT.

On the first part to your question the answer is yes cause you have fufilled the cost and on the second part yeah dude the second effect take place cause no matter what the form was fufilled they gain life but they don't have to commit cause of red lotus and if you stop them from gaining life than they would have to commit whatever you said out. (This is from my assumption )

If Red Lotus cancels the ability, it cancels the entire ability, including the lifegain.

ok so lets say something that wouldn't cancel the ability, just the committing part.

F Commit: Your opponent gains X vitality and commits X foundations. X cannnot be more than your opponent's maximum vitality minus their current vitality.

OK, but since the abilty just say "foundations" and not "their foundations", what is to stop them from commiting your foundtaions? Is this how his ability is meant to be written or was "their" forgotten?

If it does say "Your opponent... commits X foundations" there should be nothing that stops them from committing YOUR foundations.

Sigh, another terrible character, and just when we had such hope.

just as in any ability that says "your opponent _________ X ________" it is the opponent who must follow the directions using their own resources, be it discarding X cards, losing X life, gaining/losing X momentum, etc.

why think otherwise? Stun: X is similarly worded

If what you say is true, then cards suc as Psycho Style would not read: "Commit X foundations: Your opponent commits X of their foundations. X may not be more than half the number of your opponent's ready foundations (rounded up).

Per TR: 401.2.3 Stun: X - The player’s opponent commits X foundations in their staging area.

The card was probably made like that so if you wanted to lock down your oppnent you would have to be locked down as well, sort of a balancing effect. Life gain is nothing when you can OTK.

think about what you proposed ZC:

i'm going to give you 5 vitality so you can commit 5 of my cards. srsly? nowhere does that make any sense, especially since his second ability doesn't have anything to do with your opponent gaining vitality. this would be as bad as the errata on abyss**'s Form.

I understand what it says. That's why it's either a last ditch effort to get something through, or it will need an errata for the missing word. The only time when you (or your oppnent) cannot commit your opponent's cards without the word "their" or "any" is when paying costs. Precedence comes with cards like Ken's Shoryuken and Psycho Style.

HolyDragonCloud said:

Though I'm sure I am right on this, it never hurts to ask:

The new Promo Ken's Enhance states:

This attack gets minus X damage. X equals half this attack's damage (rounded down)

Since it does not state printed damage, I presume the effect means whatever the damage of the attack is at the time of use of the Enhance, right?

Correct.

Yo Ken's F makes perfect sense to me cause it says that your opponent does both gains vitality and commits their foundations but you know people they need a clarification on almost everything.

here's more clarification:

Ken's Shoryuken was mentioned. if you're going to use that as an example, then you will notice that the word "any" is used there. not so in the form with Ken.

Very true. However, we also have cards such as The Angel of Evening which says "E Commit: If this attack is blocked, ready up to 2 foundations that have been not readied this combat phase." as well as Detached: "R Commit: After you take damage from an unblocked attack , commit 1 foundation and discard 1 of your opponent's momentum.:

Both cards on resolution will allow you to either ready or commit any foundation on the field, not just yours.

I can understand why the card should make opponents commit only their foundations though. As long as there is an agreement to what the intent was, we can agree to that eratta.

Ken needs Errata. It's pretty clear the intent was to make your opponent commit their own foundations. That is not what the card says however.

It's no different then if you use Barbaric on your own attack, and then your opponent readies all of your foundations to DR your attack down to one. Your attack deals it's one damage and you have to ready a foundation. Since yours are all ready thanks to their Tendon Strength you have to ready one of their foundations. Or you know, if they had an Ibis Minuet you were sick of being committed, you could ready it with Barbaric.

The text of the card is pretty clear. And unlike Cleansing Nirvana it works as written. Heck, you could theoretically build a deck around cards that like to be committed such as Explosive Power and Voracious Appetite. Maybe that's what the designers intended (though I doubt it).

If we're are going to go down the road of "That's a stupid ability as printed, it's SUPPOSED to work this other way" I have a BUNCH of character cards I'd like to introduce to you that are suddenly a LOT more awesome then we previously thought. Suckitude is insufficient reason to ignore the English language.

EDIT : Can anyone post a link to the card? I haven't actually seen it, and will happily eat my words if the ability does have "their foundations" in it.

EDITed again to make Tag's post below look non-sequiterish.

There's one on Ebay. Just type in UFS Ken in the search function. The words on the pic are kinda small, but if you look closely, it does indeed lack the word "their".

I tried the search to no avail. Since there is no PM function on here, if you add me as a friend you can see my email address, and then email me with the link. Er... would you do that? Thanks.

Well I accepted the friend invitation, but your e-mail is still hidden to me. Can you make it visible, thanks.