******Ken******

By HolyDragonCloud, in UFS Rules Q & A

Well, poop. Um... how about you just post the link here...

I guess we don't even have a workaround for PMs. ):

aslum,

80.jpg

other than that, he's right. Ken can currently allow his opponent to commit his own foundations because nothing on the card says the opponent must commit their own foundations for the Form's effect.

DecPromos.jpg

According to Ken's F text, his opponent can commit Ken's foundations, which makes this ability quite worthless in my opinion.

Ahh... I was thinking of a Barbaric, not shooting cap. I've now edited my post so it make more sense, unfortunatly it makes Tag's post make less sense. For clarity I'd originally said Shooting Cap cause I couldn't remember which card Barbaric was.

Barbaric is the card I was thinking of, though something like The Angel of Evening or Devil of Daybreak could yields the same results.
Edit to make the double post really hard to read.

As Rules Arbiter I'm in the process of confirming with James whether or not we will be issuing functional errata for Ken.

Thank you for posting the pics up gentlemen.

aslum said:

Barbaric is the card I was thinking of, though something like The Anel of Evening or Devil of Daybreak could yields the same results.

Functional Errata effective immediately:

Ken's F now reads as follows:

F Commit: Your opponent gains X vitality and commits X of their foundations. X cannot be more than your opponent's maximum vitality minus their current vitality
.

Bolded text features the functional errata.

Is this errata going to be made available anywhere other then this thread?

::shrugs::

It's in James' hands for the tournament rules re-write due Around the time set 12 hits.

I've emailed it to Paul as well.

Outside of that, I can't say how, when, or where it will be published.

thank you all of this fussin and fightin was gettin me a headache

Thanks for clearing this up Gothy and making a character actually playable now :D

Hoping to get an answer to this question as well:

If I, were to say use his F and then cancel the life gain without canelling the ability, would the committing effect still go through?

How do you propose doing that?

Furthermore about the life gain part. If my opponant is at max life, can I still use the ability as they can't get any life?

I'm pretty sure there's nothing that does that currently, but say theorhetically.

B-rad: you can play the ability, but X will be 0

papernaut: it all depends on the wording of the response you're using. The one card that comes to mind that does what you're suggesting is S-Class Noble, which says "before your opponent gains vitality, if they have higher vitality than you, cancel that vitality gain".

since it doesn't say cancel the entire ability, it would just cancel the gain, and the commit would still happen.

good, good. I see evil new ken taking over.