Newbie Failing Rolls question

By ghorsey, in Elder Sign

Am I reading the rules correctly in the manual when it says, "If the player is unable or unwilling to use his die result to satisfy any of a task's requirements , the roll is considered a failed roll."

Am I to understand, if I have a card that has 2 task (The Curator):

Lore, Lore, Lore

Lore, Investigation x3

First Roll -- Success

Lore, Lore, Investigation x3, Terror, Peril

Play

Lore, Investigation x3 completing the 2nd task. (Can only apply a role to a single task)

Second Role -- Success (despite not completing the whole 1st task)

Lore, Perl, Investigation, Terror

Play

Single Lore on 1st task. Bringing Requirements for the task to Lore, Lore.

Third Roll -- Failure

Terror, Investigation x2, Investigation x1

Action

Lose die

Fourth Role -- Success

Lore, Perl

Play

Lore on 1st task. Bringing requirements for the task to Lore.

Role -- Failure

Terror

Action

Suffer consequences

Am I applying the rules here correctly?

You need to complete all requirements on a task to succeed. Also, you're not allowed to place 1 result on a task if you don't complete the task by doing so.

Hope this helps

Really? Then the wording of the rules are very poor. A big table top gamer friend of mine said always take the rules literally word for word (I'm a newbie to all this). Taking his advice, based on the wording in the rule book, you can partially complete a task during a single roll (defining a single role as roll 6 die, discard 1, re-roll, until all die are depleted == single roll). The direct quote from the rules says if you cannot play a die to any of a task's requirements, the roll is considered failed.

If what you are saying it the correct interpretation, then the Curator room is **** near impossible, with the core set.

Thanks for the interpretation.... your read falls in line with what I've seen in videos, etc.

Not so sure if you are referring to the revised rulebook or the original one. In the latest version of the rules, pag 8, we read:

If the player is unable or unwilling to use his die results to satisfy any task’s requirements , the roll is considered a failed roll.

It's not "any requirement of a task", but it's "any task's requirements", which means " the requirements of any task "

Sorry if the wording looks confused to you

If what you are saying it the correct interpretation, then the Curator room is **** near impossible, with the core set.

Curator is arguably the hardest Adventure (at least non-OW). Best bets against it are Harvey Walters (turn Terror into Lore) and Clues. In your example, you could keep the first two Lore in the first roll and use a Clue to reroll the other four dice, looking for a Lore, this would see you through the hardest task, 3x Lore. Or barring Clues, in the actual sequence of events you posted, on the second roll, Focus the Lore, drop a die and roll the remaining two dice, needing two Lore (1/36 shot). In reality, if you only have the 6 Green dice (no Yellow or Red die or Clues), don't go for the Curator. It requires a minimum of 5 dice to complete, odds to getting those with mere 6 dice with no rerolls without dropping dice = go elsewhere, get Yellow + Red dice and Clues before tackling the Curator. Oh, Spells could also come in handy.

Maybe I'm dense, or maybe the wording here is poor, or maybe I just want to play on easy :P

If only the rules read:

If the play is unable or unwilling to use his die results to satisfy all the requirements of any task , the roll is considered a failed roll.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Edited by ghorsey

There might be an issue here of using inaccurate rules text too. Revised rules state:

"If a player’s die results can satisfy a task’s requirements, the
player may take those dice and assign them to the task to
indicate its completion." (p. 8)

and then

"If the player is unable or unwilling to use his die results to satisfy
any task’s requirements, the roll is considered a failed roll." (p. 8)

Note the lack of an "a" in the latter quote (OP wrote it as "any of a task's requirements"), while a minor change, actually a big difference between being able to put down a single die vs having to actually put down all the dice at once.

Do the original rules state this any better in your opinion ghorsey:

" If the player is able and willing to
meet all of the requirements for a single task, he completes
that task.
If the player cannot or does not wish to meet the
requirements of at least one of the tasks on the Adventure card,
he fails to complete a task." (p. 6)

There might be an issue here of using inaccurate rules text too. Revised rules state:

"If a player’s die results can satisfy a task’s requirements, the

player may take those dice and assign them to the task to

indicate its completion." (p. 8)

and then

"If the player is unable or unwilling to use his die results to satisfy

any task’s requirements, the roll is considered a failed roll." (p. 8)

Note the lack of an "a" in the latter quote (OP wrote it as "any of a task's requirements"), while a minor change, actually a big difference between being able to put down a single die vs having to actually put down all the dice at once.

Do the original rules state this any better in your opinion ghorsey:

" If the player is able and willing to

meet all of the requirements for a single task, he completes

that task. If the player cannot or does not wish to meet the

requirements of at least one of the tasks on the Adventure card,

he fails to complete a task." (p. 6)

Yes. The original rules are unambiguous. Preferred.

It's funny how the mind works... I tried to type the original wording from the rules book in my OP, word for word. Yet I still typed my interpretation. It is lkie beieng albe to raed tihs setnecne no prlobem.

Edited by ghorsey