Mission: The Source - Line of Sight

By jacenat, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

We played the mission "The Source" yesterday and had an interesting combination of abilities. The mission has the following end of round effect listed under the "Opportune Moment" section:



"Resolve the "Order" ability of the captured officer, choosing an Imperial figure within his line of sight instead of within 2 spaces"



We were battling between the Incinerator (tile 23a) and the Inspection Station (tile 20b). One of the players was playing Mak with "Covert" which reads:



"Hostile Figures 4 or more spaces away from you donot have line of sight to you. You do not block line of sight for those figures."



Here a picture of the setup:

VgkvQsZ.jpg


Per RAW, we were unsure how to determine LOS. The E-Web Engineer can not attack Mak, because of Covert. But Covert does not matter for the captured Imperial Officer, since he is neither hostile (he is neutral) nor is he 4 or more spaces away from Mak. So he should not have LOS to the E-Web Engineer, even though the E-Web Engineer has LOS to the captured Imperial Officer.


I ruled (since the rebels were already far behind) that the captured Imperial Officer can not trigger his "Order" at the end of the round because he has no LOS to the E-Web Engineer. Were we right?

You ruled correctly. The Officer indeed does not have line of sight to the E-web. E-Web does have line of sight to the Officer, though.

The RRG mentions this instance on page 16:

" It is possible for a figure to have line of sight to another figure that does not have line of sight back to itself."

And I'll point out the typo in this mission:

The captured Officer does not have the "Order" ability at all. It has the "Executive Order" ability.

So I submitted this to FFG as a rules question and got back from Paul just now:

You ruled correctly. Since the mission ability lets the Officer trigger “order” on any figure within his line of sight, the fact that E-Web has line of sight to the Officer is irrelevant as all that matters is what the Officer can see.

Thanks!

Paul Winchester
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

So I think this is cleared up.