Hunter's Quarry (Improved)

By Axel0rd, in Star Wars: Edge of the Empire RPG

If I use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) two times in the same round they stack?


Hunter's Quarry (Improved)
Activation: Passive
Ranked: No
Trees: Big-Game Hunter
The character can choose to suffer 2 strain to perform the Hunter's Quarry action as a maneuver instead. Enter the Unknown pag 30

If I use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) two times in the same round they stack?

Hunter's Quarry (Improved)

Activation: Passive
Ranked: No
Trees: Big-Game Hunter
The character can choose to suffer 2 strain to perform the Hunter's Quarry action as a maneuver instead. Enter the Unknown pag 30

Aere you asking if you can use the improved as a maneuver and then the lower ranked as an action? If i was your GM i would say no, the Hunter's Quarry (improved) is to show that you have improved in that talent.

I'd say the intent is that you can't perform two of them in one round. Especially due to the word "instead" there. It might be worth submitting a rules question to FFG, but that seems to be the general idea with these sorts of talents.

Anyways, this talent (Improved Hunter's Quarry) is already incredibly powerful:

1) It is a maneuver, so it allows you to attack in the same turn using your action.

2) It is a skill check, which means that there's a chance for extra Triumph/Advantage to spend, thereby potentially indirectly improving your next attack (and/or those of your allies).

3) Success can directly improve your next attack, as well as those of your allies.

If I use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) two times in the same round they stack?

Hunter's Quarry (Improved)

Activation: Passive
Ranked: No
Trees: Big-Game Hunter
The character can choose to suffer 2 strain to perform the Hunter's Quarry action as a maneuver instead. Enter the Unknown pag 30

Aere you asking if you can use the improved as a maneuver and then the lower ranked as an action? If i was your GM i would say no, the Hunter's Quarry (improved) is to show that you have improved in that talent.

No Osprey, I'm asking if I can use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) twice in the same round and if that happens the effect stack. F or example: My turn started and with my maneuver I use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) then I decide to suffer 2 points of strain to use that again - If that happen the effect stack?

I'd say the intent is that you can't perform two of them in one round. Especially due to the word "instead" there. It might be worth submitting a rules question to FFG, but that seems to be the general idea with these sorts of talents.

Anyways, this talent (Improved Hunter's Quarry) is already incredibly powerful:

1) It is a maneuver, so it allows you to attack in the same turn using your action.

2) It is a skill check, which means that there's a chance for extra Triumph/Advantage to spend, thereby potentially indirectly improving your next attack (and/or those of your allies).

3) Success can directly improve your next attack, as well as those of your allies.

Enlighten me how to submitting a rules question to FFG. Thank you!

Enlighten me how to submitting a rules question to FFG. Thank you!

Sure, just scroll up to the top of the page.

Click " More "

Click " Contact "

Then follow the instructions for asking a Rules Question.

If I use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) two times in the same round they stack?

Hunter's Quarry (Improved)

Activation: Passive
Ranked: No
Trees: Big-Game Hunter
The character can choose to suffer 2 strain to perform the Hunter's Quarry action as a maneuver instead. Enter the Unknown pag 30

Aere you asking if you can use the improved as a maneuver and then the lower ranked as an action? If i was your GM i would say no, the Hunter's Quarry (improved) is to show that you have improved in that talent.

No Osprey, I'm asking if I can use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) twice in the same round and if that happens the effect stack. For example: My turn started and with my maneuver I use Hunter's Quarry (Improved) then I decide to suffer 2 points of strain to use that again - If that happen the effect stack?

Sure I'll let you use it twice, 2 strain + 2 strain=4 (that is the cost of using the talent twice) +2 strain for making your 2 maneuvers per RAW for a total of 6 strain, then as the GM, I will ensure that you suffer even more strain with the rest of my NPCs turns by flipping destiny, due to you looking like the most powerful person in your party and now I am scared of you and you'll go down that much faster due to you using half your strain for that one talent twice.

It sounds to me like you are trying to be a little min/max. But go ahead and ask the Dev and I will bet that if he tells you yes but you need to follow the maneuver rules, as I have shown you above, you will use a total of 6 strain to use it twice