EVENTS (resolved) while IN TOWNS...no rules?! - "In Need of heroes"

By Aurelian76, in Runebound

Hi guys. I have this card: " In Need of heroes "...which states that "The first player with 5 or more total experience value to play the Market Step in Tamalir draws two cards from the market deck and adds them to the market deck in Tamalir"...then I take any card from the market that I like.

Ok...so...I did have more than 5 experience points (from both adventure counters and experience counters)...THUS....I 'solved' this Event and drew another (green) adventure card (just like the rule says: "after solving an encouter card draw another card of the same color". Guess what...the adventure card I drew was a monster card and remember that - I AM STILL IN TOWN....there is nothing in the rulebook for this type of encounter. I drew the card and faught the monster....and I lost. SO

what then? Do I take an undefeated challenge counter and place it in the town of Tamalir? (isn't this weird?) THIS IS SOOOO WEIRD to me and I looked for this type of encouter all over the internet including here on this forum...but nothing yet.

Nobody with this problem?

It is not the first time it happened to me. I had similar event cards that had to be solved while the hero was still in (a) town. After successfully resolving that particular event, I drew another adventure card (just like the rulebook says) but most of the time, they were monsters, and again - a monster card while in town!?! (ex: I fought the monster in town and I lost and placed an unchallenged counter (the same example from above).


I just need to know if I am doing this right or not. To me it doesn't sound right to fight monsters in town?! Just a thought..

Thank you for your time in reading this and I am (really) looking forward to hearing your kind

thoughts.

Regards,
Aurelian.

You take the two cards from the Market Deck not the Adventure Deck.

lgnore my post.

Aurelian76 said:

Hi guys. I have this card: " In Need of heroes "...which states that "The first player with 5 or more total experience value to play the Market Step in Tamalir draws two cards from the market deck and adds them to the market deck in Tamalir"...then I take any card from the market that I like.

Ok...so...I did have more than 5 experience points (from both adventure counters and experience counters)...THUS....I 'solved' this Event and drew another (green) adventure card (just like the rule says: "after solving an encouter card draw another card of the same color". Guess what...the adventure card I drew was a monster card and remember that - I AM STILL IN TOWN....there is nothing in the rulebook for this type of encounter. I drew the card and faught the monster....and I lost. SO

There appear to be two rules mechanics at play here. The first is meeting the criteria to employ the event card, the second is the rule about continuing to draw adventure cards if you haven't drawn a monster (ie: challenge). When you draw the event card (while standing on an jewel space), you put it into play in the event box on the side of the board, assuming there isn't one of a higher value already present. You then IMMEDIATELY draw another adventure card (while you're still on the jewel) and keep going until you get a challenge. Whoever gets to Tamalir first and meets the requirements of the event card will claim it's benefits, as long as it hasn't been replaced by a different event card before then, but that happens independently of you drawing adventure cards on the jewel.

The problem here is that you are misreading the rules about when to draw the next adventure card. It isn't after someone meets the requirements to get the benefit, it's after the event card has been drawn and put into play (or discarded if a higher event is already in play.) You cannot draw adventure cards if you aren't standing on an appropriately coloured jewel space. If a situation like that occurs, something was done wrong.