Can you spend a surge to recover a strain if the attack doesn't have enough range?
Spend surge to recover strain - without enough range
Also, more importantly, Recover is the only attack effect so far that does not require the attack to hit to be triggered (unlike all other effects such as Focus, Bleed, Stun, Blast, Cleave, etc), so you can recover strain/damage regardless of accuracy or even if your opponent rolls a full Dodge.
Also, more importantly, Recover is the only attack effect so far that does not require the attack to hit to be triggered (unlike all other effects such as Focus, Bleed, Stun, Blast, Cleave, etc), so you can recover strain/damage regardless of accuracy or even if your opponent rolls a full Dodge.
thats not true - only negative effects need at least 1 damage on the target
Focus can be bought with a spare surge even if no dmg was dished out
thats not true - only negative effects need at least 1 damage on the target
Focus can be bought with a spare surge even if no dmg was dished out
You are incorrect. You are required to deal one or more damage to trigger Focus.
Here is the rule: "Focus" pg 12 RRG
"If a figure has the “Focus” keyword, it may become focused after attacking. If the target suffers one or more damage, the attacker becomes Focused after the attack resolves."
Additionally, "Conditions" pg 9 RRG
" The target of the attack must suffer one or more damage for the condition to apply. If it is a Beneficial condition, it is applied to the attacker. If it is a Harmful condition, it is applied to the target figure."
Edited by DarkJodo
thats not true - only negative effects need at least 1 damage on the target
Focus can be bought with a spare surge even if no dmg was dished out
You are incorrect. You are required to deal one or more damage to trigger Focus.
Here is the rule: "Focus" pr 12 RRG
"If a figure has the “Focus” keyword, it may become focused after attacking. If the target suffers one or more damage, the attacker becomes Focused after the attack resolves."
**** it - you are right. sorry for misinformation.
My group and I had the common understanding that benefitial conditions are applied even if there was no dmg dished out.
Thanks for the clarifiation - I seem to have picked it up incorrect somehow
Well, to be honest it is not necessarily very streamlined design that one beneficial effect (Focus) depends on hitting and another (Recover) does not.
Is recover a condition? Doesn't actually stick around, so it seems more like an action than a condition...
Well, to be honest it is not necessarily very streamlined design that one beneficial effect (Focus) depends on hitting and another (Recover) does not.
Well, focused is a condition and recovery is not. So it makes sense from that perspective.
There are also other effects that grant focus which do not require attacks, so these do not require doing 1 damage.