Positive surge effect? :)

By Judasmessias, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi there First i wanna say, CAn remember having ANY nails on my fingers since i got this game!! thats how exiting every game is for us,, BEST GAME IN YEARS!!! thx ;)

  1. If i have surge i dont use in my attack i can use it to remoove Strain, but if i dont have any strain left, does it then heal life damange?
  2. if a massive figure moves onto a space containing a large figure what happens then?

Best regards from Rasmus "no nail" Juul. from Denmark

PS: sorry if i have posted this twice, was not sure my first post got ... ehm posted hehe

Hi there First i wanna say, CAn remember having ANY nails on my fingers since i got this game!! thats how exiting every game is for us,, BEST GAME IN YEARS!!! thx ;)

  1. If i have surge i dont use in my attack i can use it to remoove Strain, but if i dont have any strain left, does it then heal life damange?
  2. if a massive figure moves onto a space containing a large figure what happens then?

Best regards from Rasmus "no nail" Juul. from Denmark

PS: sorry if i have posted this twice, was not sure my first post got ... ehm posted hehe

1) Yes. However, you can only use 1 surge to recover 1 strain (or heal 1 damage) per attack. Even if you have 2 surges left over, you can only ever use one to recover health.

2) The large figure is pushed out of the way. See the Rules Reference Guide p.21. Note that the only difference to small figures is that the large figure can not be rotated during the push. Otherwise it works in the same way.

Also, since you are from Denmark, allow me to plug our podcast:

www.boardwars.eu - podcast about imperial assault by Europeans for Europeans (and everyone else who wants to listen) :)

/edit: amended point 1) to be more clear.

Edited by jacenat

Hi there First i wanna say, CAn remember having ANY nails on my fingers since i got this game!! thats how exiting every game is for us,, BEST GAME IN YEARS!!! thx ;)

  • If i have surge i dont use in my attack i can use it to remoove Strain, but if i dont have any strain left, does it then heal life damange?
  • if a massive figure moves onto a space containing a large figure what happens then?
Best regards from Rasmus "no nail" Juul. from Denmark

PS: sorry if i have posted this twice, was not sure my first post got ... ehm posted hehe

1) Yes. However, you can only use 1 surge to recover 1 strain (or heal 1 damage) per attack. Even if you have 2 surges left over, you can only ever use one.

2) The large figure is pushed out of the way. See the Rules Reference Guide p.21. Note that the only difference to small figures is that the large figure can not be rotated during the push. Otherwise it works in the same way.

Also, since you are from Denmark, allow me to plug our podcast:

www.boardwars.eu - podcast about imperial assault by Europeans for Europeans (and everyone else who wants to listen) :)

Nevermind

Edited by Reiryc

A rolled surge may recover a strain. If you have no strain, then any recovered strain may be used to recover a damage.

daa

A rolled surge may recover a strain. If you have no strain, then any recovered strain may be used to recover a damage.

daa

Found it: RRG page 22 under recover.

Edited by Reiryc

Hi there First i wanna say, CAn remember having ANY nails on my fingers since i got this game!! thats how exiting every game is for us,, BEST GAME IN YEARS!!! thx ;)

  1. If i have surge i dont use in my attack i can use it to remoove Strain, but if i dont have any strain left, does it then heal life damange?
  2. if a massive figure moves onto a space containing a large figure what happens then?

Best regards from Rasmus "no nail" Juul. from Denmark

PS: sorry if i have posted this twice, was not sure my first post got ... ehm posted hehe

1) Yes. However, you can only use 1 surge to recover 1 strain (or heal 1 damage) per attack. Even if you have 2 surges left over, you can only ever use one to recover health.

2) The large figure is pushed out of the way. See the Rules Reference Guide p.21. Note that the only difference to small figures is that the large figure can not be rotated during the push. Otherwise it works in the same way.

Also, since you are from Denmark, allow me to plug our podcast:

www.boardwars.eu - podcast about imperial assault by Europeans for Europeans (and everyone else who wants to listen) :)

/edit: amended point 1) to be more clear.

THx A Mill for the Podcast. Was awesoem ;)

A rolled surge may recover a strain. If you have no strain, then any recovered strain may be used to recover a damage.

daa

How about if a rebel rolls 1 surge and the Imp player blocks all damage and rolls an evade. Can the surge still be used to remove a strain or is it negated by the evade?

Edited by Varasin

A rolled surge may recover a strain. If you have no strain, then any recovered strain may be used to recover a damage.

daa

How about if a rebel rolls 1 surge and the Imp player blocks all damage and rolls an evade. Can the surge still be used to remove a strain or is it negated by the evade?

A rolled surge may recover a strain. If you have no strain, then any recovered strain may be used to recover a damage.

daa

How about if a rebel rolls 1 surge and the Imp player blocks all damage and rolls an evade. Can the surge still be used to remove a strain or is it negated by the evade?
It is negated.

That is incorrect - from RRG:

When an attack misses, other effects can still be triggered
(such as using the Recover keyword). If the ability requires the
target figure to suffer one or more H, such as Cleave, a miss
prevents that ability from being resolved.

- RRG pg 17

A rolled surge may recover a strain. If you have no strain, then any recovered strain may be used to recover a damage.

daa

How about if a rebel rolls 1 surge and the Imp player blocks all damage and rolls an evade. Can the surge still be used to remove a strain or is it negated by the evade?
It is negated.

That is incorrect - from RRG:

When an attack misses, other effects can still be triggered
(such as using the Recover keyword). If the ability requires the
target figure to suffer one or more H, such as Cleave, a miss
prevents that ability from being resolved.

- RRG pg 17

No, I am correct because the evade would negate the surge. pg. 24 RRG.

Each (evade) result removes one (surge) result. This effectively

reduces the number of (surge) the attacker can spend by one.

Thus you cannot use it to recover strain or for anything else.

Edited by agentc13

Hmm, two conflicting responses. A better look at the rules does seem to say it should be evaded. In my groups first campaign I played as the Imperials and the rebels were allowed to use a surge to remove a strain even if all the surges were evaded. I won the campaign anyway, with the missions split evenly. For our second campaign I'm playing as a rebel (Fenn Signis), it looks like we'll be changing the rule just in time for it to work against me for both campaigns.

Edited by Varasin

Hmm, two conflicting responses. A better look at the rules does seem to say it should be evaded. In my groups first campaign I played as the Imperials and the rebels were allowed to use a surge to remove a strain even if all the surges were evaded. I won the campaign anyway, with the missions split evenly. For our second campaign I'm playing as a rebel (Fenn Signis), it looks like we'll be changing the rule just in time for it to work against me for both campaigns.

Well, to clarify a bit further (and not just for your benefit).

Pg. 5 RRG under "Attacks":

STEPS OF AN ATTACK
When a figure performs an attack, it resolves the following steps:
1. Declare Target: Based upon its attack type (Melee or Ranged), the figure performing the attack
(referred to as the attacker) declares one eligible target for the attack (referred to as the
target).
- For a melee attack, an eligible target is any hostile figure adjacent to the attacker. For a
ranged attack, an eligible target is any hostile figure within line of sight of the attacker.
2. Roll Dice: The attacker rolls his attack dice at the same time as the defender rolls defense
dice (listed under “Defense” on the target figure’s Hero sheet or Deployment card).
3. Rerolls: If players have any effects that reroll dice, they are resolved now.
- Each die may be rerolled only once per attack regardless of who is rerolling the die.
4. Apply Modifiers: If players have any effects that gain or remove icons or Accuracy, they are
applied at this time. This includes spending (Evade) results to remove (Surge) results. Any (Surge) abilities
that provide modifiers are not resolved until step 5.
5. Spend Surges: If the attacker has any (Surge) results, he may spend them to trigger special
abilities.
6. Check Accuracy: If performing a ranged attack (Ranged) the total Accuracy value must be equal to or
greater than the number of spaces the target is away from the attacker. (See “Counting Spaces” on
page 9). If the total Accuracy value is less than this number, the attack is a miss.
7. Calculate Damage: The total number of (Block) results is subtracted from the total number of
(Damage) results, and then the target suffers all remaining (Damage).
Since you apply modifiers (evades cancelling surges) before spending the surges, an evade would cancel the surge before you can spend it on recovering strain. I am guessing the other poster may have been confusing evade with dodge? If the defender rolls a dodge (x-man type symbol) you can still spend surge to recover strain (but not anything that needs damage to go through).
But that should make it pretty clear for you. :)
Edited by agentc13