Relic question

By theundead, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Well, it was a good tactic. Splig had to spend an action every turn to stand up, since the kept one or 2 heroes focussed on him, so just getting to the end of the chain took too much time. In the mean time, the other heros just went after the open group without having to worry about the OL victory condition.

I think by contrast we went after the open group first so that we only had to knock down Splig once. It was not necessarily the best idea. We won the encounter, but lost the quest.

so far i found a possible answer to a question i have in this topic here.

But:

Is there any line in the rulebook or faq or whereever stating that a lieutenant wearing a relic, while not being on the map, cant/can use that relic in that specific encounter?

Situation :

We are nearing the end of the HoB campaign...and since the finale is devided in 3 encounters, it will become quite heavy. In encounter 2 there is Eliza Farrow ...but not on the map....mainly just mentioned, because she can gather these markers which will be important for encounter 3. But....if she would be able to use a relic in encounter 2 while not beeing on the map...well...i guess it may the point which influences the outcome of the finale the most. So im really wondering if the Overlord is allowed to use a relic, that is assigned to a lieutenant, that is mentioned as appearent, but not on the map.

already thanks again for answering !

Nope. If the LT is not on the map the relic cannot be used. The same is true if the LT is defeated (since then the LT is removed from the map).

There has been unofficial FAQs on Lieutenants wielding relics some time ago which lead to the following rules (which I included in the CRRG):

  • During the setup step of each encounter , the overlord chooses which relic (if any) each of his lieutenants wields during that encounter . Unless otherwise indicated each lieutenant may wield only one relic (the Sun's Fury relic is an exception in this respect). ( source )
  • The overlord may use the abilities of a relic wielded by a lieutenant, who appears in an encounter (as noted in the setup section of the corresponding quest description), even if the lieutenant has not been placed on the map yet. ( source )

Notably, the second answer has been given before "quest" was changed to "encounter". Thus, it includes obsolete statements but the part on lieutenants "not being placed on the map yet" still applies.

The change from "quest" to "encounter" is in line with the assignment of Monster relics as described in the Manor of Ravens rule book.

Edited by Sadgit

Oh my oh my....so the OL could use this **** shadow staff in any encounter to reroll misses...and in encounter 2 even while beeing save from losing the staff at all cause Eliza is not on the map.

encounter 2A may decide all...ohh god damnit >__>

thanks for the answers guys ! :)

Edited by Andi1066

Thanks for the links, Sadgit. I was unaware of that second one.

Regarding Relics:

1) If a monster-relic is given to a monster group that reinforces, but this group gets wiped out anyway, would that group loose the bonus of the relic even if it reinforces later?

2) Can a monster-relic be re-asigned to another group after the completion of the first encounter?

Given the answers above, I guess the rules would be 'Yes' for 1) and 'No' for 2). However, the unofficial FAQ contradict the rules cited by Zaltyre and others.

Monster relics are different from standard relics and follow different rules.

1) A monster relic is in play until the end of the encounter, even if all monsters in that group are defeated.

2) Yes, possible as like standard relics, monster relics are assigned per encounter

Edited by Sadgit