I just jumped into a group of friend's campaign that is about half-way over, having never played the game before (just 1 round of Skirmish the night before), and afterwards I read through the Getting Started guide and the Rules Reference, and I think they might be playing a rule wrong.
They told me that when a character uses Rest, at the end of that activation, the game checks if that character rested and then heals strain equal to the endurance level, healing damage if strain < endurance. Meaning you can't recover strain before performing your second action and that it's impossible to gain the benefits of resting twice in the same turn. However, I didn't see anything in the rules about it working that way, and the few IA campaign videos I've watched allowed double-resting.
Is my group making a mistake about resting? It might explain why my Diala didn't feel very effective in my first game. (Also didn't help that they didn't tell me about Recovering with Surges).