fatherly love

By dark121, in UFS Rules Q & A

hey everyone! i just have a quick question about fatherly love

F commit: Discard 2 random cards and then draw 2 cards.

if i had no cards or one card in hand would i still be able to use the effect? my understanding of it is that because it's after the " : " it means it's not a payment for the effect. So you have to meet it the best of your abilities... or something like that? but yeah what would happen, and what's the official rule?

thanks!

the "then" forces you to have to fulfill the condition before it. If you cannot discard 2 cards, you cannot draw two cards.

pre-emptive *stamp* (brian will confirm) for machop


2.13 Effects
When playing/activating a card or an ability, the effect is everything after the colon. (i.e., E: Draw 2 cards)
2.13.1 After the generation of an effect, it exists independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability.
2.13.2 Effects will last until the end of the turn they are played unless otherwise stated.
2.13.3 If effects are connected together by the wording “and then”, “then”, or sentences starting with the wording “Then,” these effects are linked to the effect before them. If the first effect cannot be completed in its entirety, then the linked effect will not happen.
2.13.4 After an ability is played, it will resolve as much of itself as it can. (See 8.1 Playing a card from hand, for more information on playing cards and abilities.)
2.13.5 Played abilities that state a condition preceded by “if ”, “after”, “when”, the entire effect following “if ”, “after”, “when” must resolve and then the condition can be fulfilled. For example, for the game text “If this attack deals damage, reveal the top card of your deck. Gain X vitality.” The vitality gain is fulfilled once the attack deals damage and you reveal the top card of your deck.
2.13.6 If an effect would result in a number being divided by 0, it is instead considered 0.
2.13.7A To be able to resolve an effect, it must have a valid target.
2.13.7B If an effect would be generated from modifying something that is unable to be modified, that effect generates no result instead.
2.13.8 When a player has the option to choose a number for X, X must be a positive number.
2.13.9 A card turned face-down has no traits.
2.13.9.1 Any effects referencing a printed number on a face-down card would see that number as a 0.
2.13.10 When an effect refers to something preceding (i.e., “The there is a non attack preceding this card in your card pool”), it means immediately preceding the current card.
2.13.11 If an effect states to immediately destroy a card or turn a card face down, once that effect has happened, that effect is considered to have resolved.

make note of the bolded sentance, straight from the rules, if the words "and then" are linking 2 effects together then the FIRST must resolve in full for the other effect to resolve.

N.J.

thanks NJ that answers my question completly. i'm use to games like vs, where in this instance if you didn't have 2 cards to discard you'd be able to draw 2 cards.

but that makes perfect sence! thanks