LOS in a corridor

By Teh HOBO, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Quick LOS question from a new player. Say I have 6 stormies lined up 2 by 2 in a corridor, do the ones behind have LOS to things in front? The rulebook says you can draw LOS along an edge but says nothing about along an edge between two figures. I'm guessing not but the tantive corridor scene gives me a little hope. What about melee figures with reach?

Horrible diagram:

00<-Want to kill these guys.

SS

SS<-LOS? Melee + Reach?

SS<-LOS?

Line of sight cannot be traced through non-target figures. Only the front two stormtroopers that are adjacent can attack in this current formation. Figures still need LOS when attacking with reach as well.

You can, however attack with your troopers, then move forward or back to allow the other troopers to move in an make their attack.

The stormtroopers in the back do not have line of sight, because you cannot draw two non-intersecting lines to the target.

From the rulebook pg16

To determine line of sight, the player draws two imaginary, nonintersecting lines from one corner of the attacking figure’s space to two adjacent corners of the target’s space. If either of these lines passes through a wall, figure, or blocking terrain, then the figure does not have line of sight to the target.

A picture is worth a thousand words, so let me give you some examples. In example one, you cannot draw line of sight, because the two lines you would use would either intersect (by being on top of each other) or they would pass through the blue figure that is in the way.

Examples 2 and 3 work though, since you don't have to draw intersecting lines, and no figures are blocking the lines that you draw.

GpzdZNb.png

That's what I was missing, two corners on the target , I was only drawing one. Thanks guys. You can draw along the edge of a figure as long as there isn't a figure next to it right?

That's what I was missing, two corners on the target , I was only drawing one. Thanks guys. You can draw along the edge of a figure as long as there isn't a figure next to it right?

Correct. Just like you can draw a line along the edge of a wall. See diagram above.

That's what I was missing, two corners on the target , I was only drawing one. Thanks guys. You can draw along the edge of a figure as long as there isn't a figure next to it right?

You can't overlap the two lines when drawing Line of Sight - if that's what you are asking.

There is a really handy diagram of examples of Line of Sight on pg 26 of the Rules and Reference Guide