Hey Battlelorians!
Just got my expansion packs at Origins this past weekend, and got a match in today finally! Really a fantastic set--so many more options now for army building.
We were confused, however, by the Automaton power. From the card:
"Automaton: During your order step, you may spend 1 lore to order this unit as if it were in any section. If you do, this unit may move 1 additional hex during your Move step."
So when I first read that, it seemed pretty straightforward. During orders, spend a lore to order an Ironbound, in addition to whatever was on the chosen command card. Fur instance, if I played a Patrol Right card, I could order two units on the right, and pay 1 lore to order an Ironbound in any section.
But, the rules clarification in the Hernfar Guardians insert added a little twist:
"...the unit with the Automaton ability counts toward the total number of ordered units as specified by the active player's command card."
That was a surprise. From the phrasing of the ability on the Ironbound card, I would not have suspected any conditions from the command card would apply at all.
So, based on the clarification, it seems like Automaton is simply removing the Left/Center/Right restriction on command cards--but the number remains. For instance, I could play a Patrol Right command card, and command one unit in the right column, and pay 1 lore to command an Ironbound in the center or left sections.
I guess this is clear enough more with the clarification--but if Automaton is linked to the command card in number--what if there is something that specifies unit type?
If, for instance, a command card like Onslaught or Cavalry Charge is played, can Ironbound be ordered using the Automaton ability? Or is it not allowed, since those command cards specify infantry and calvary units only?
My guess is that the answer is no, Ironbound cannot be ordered by non-battlefield command cards (unless their unit type is specified)--but it's not very clear, if that's what's intended.
Anyone encountered this yet? Thoughts?