K turn formation AFTER I forced a formation bump

By Croste, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Overlapping Inline Ships

Sometimes a round will end with two ships touching each other, parallel, and

facing the same direction. After both ships execute a maneuver of the same

speed or perform the same boost or barrel roll action, they are not touching

even if their bases are still in physical contact (unless they overlapped).

Let say I have 4 Bwings in a box formation. I tighten up the formation by makeing my rear row bump my front row. If I K turn on my next move are they considered touching?

No, but only if they are perfectly parallel. If they are askew slightly, it changes the geometry and they will bump.

So would two Bwings in an askewd column. Just off center from each other, already bumped before the K. Would be considered touching after the K?

The answer might change my Bwing from pinwheel to box formation.

Wait... askewd and off center is different. They can be off center and still parrallel.

Ok, unless Im mistaken. They can be off centeted post bump and still K turn... right?

Edited by Croste

They can be off centeted post bump and still K turn... right?

Yes.

It is more difficult to do so if they're not at square angles to each other, as anything else has a longer profile to fly through.

However, to answer your initial question,

Ships are only considered "Touching" after a collision.

If a ship collides with a Koiogran, it cannot complete the koiogran and instead acts as though it were a red forward.

Therefore, if you completed a Koiogran, your ships are not "Touching", even if they are now physically adjacent.