Tie lei Iron thunder

By Mordai, in UFS Rules Q & A

question is: I have let's say 4 tiger claws in my momentum, I use their abilities then use tie lei iron thunder to discard them and choose new cards for my momentum.. If I then choose to pitch the tiger claws back into my momentum, Can their abilities be re-used?

Yes, as they would count as new copies of those cards. In the same way that Reanimated can constantly pick itself up and put itself back down again (usually with gorram darkness blade).

Can you post wording of the cards? If the card goes from in play to discard pile, i am not sure that it would work.

The reason reanimated work is it goes from in play to your hand, which is a "private" zone. Since the game cannot see your hand it does not know how many reanimateds you are holding.

If the card never goes from a known zone to a private zone then the game may still see it as the "same" card and thus not let you play the E again on the same attack.

Since the discard pile is a seperate game zone to the staging area or momentum for that matter, as soon as the Tiger claws go the the discard pile they are forgotten. I say this simply because if he only had 2 tiger claws in his momentum and 2 in his discard pile, would "the game" recognise the difference between the copies he just discarded, and the potentially new copies he puts back in. But the wording is

Discard X momentum: Take up to X attacks from your discard pile and add them to your momentum face up.

The cards leave play then return. That brief sojourn to the discard pile erases all memory of them, including the "you can only play an Enhance once per Enhance step" counter.

Wafflecopter said:

The cards leave play then return. That brief sojourn to the discard pile erases all memory of them, including the "you can only play an Enhance once per Enhance step" counter.

Can you (or anyone) point to this in the AGR? If the card never becomes "unknown" then the game may recognize it as the same card...

Not saying one way or the other or trying to argue but I would like to know where this is covered in the AGR for my own sake.

Thanks

This is a rule from MTG that is not actually in the AGR but has long been considered to be true. It really should be in the AGR though.

There is not really any specific line in the AGR that you can point to for this. There are, however, a few rulings in the past, such as Reanimated. Reanimated could take itself out of the staging area, then be replaced by itself. When it did this, the replacement, while being the same card, is considered a 'new' card for the purposes of the "One copy of an Enhance" rule. The same is true for moving from Momentum to Discard, back to Momentum. The cards are considered 'new' for the purposes of Enhancing.

-Tinman

Though cards don't lose memory when moving between public in-play zones (eg Taking the Bait + Misdirection > TTB again) so if it's face up in your momentum, it probably would keep memory that it's been played. However if you had 2 face up in momentum, and two in discard, you could use the enhances on both, then TLIT then use the enhances from the other two.

If a card leaves play (goes to discard pile), it loses memory regardless. If you have four Yi Shan's Claws in your momentum face up, yes, you can give your attack four different instances of Stun:1, then enhance with the action, discard all four, return all four, and give the attack four more instances of Stun:1.

See also: interactions with Heisheng Jian back in the day. I Yoga, you Lost Memories my Yoga. I R: with Heisheng, get back Yoga, and Yoga again to the same trigger.

Right. I said as much above... just forgot that the discard is not an in play zone.