For the money?

By Da_ghetto_gamer, in UFS Rules Q & A

So im assuming i already know the answer to this question but its something that we thought of playing sunday night.

If my opponent was to play for the money and I commit 2 foundations to negate who is actually playing the ability to blow it up you or your opponent?

the reason i ask is because of G-Corp Leader which says: R: Commit, Lose 2 Vitality, After you play an ability that destroys a foundation as a cost add that foudation to your hand.

Im hoping that you can add your opponents foundation to your hand but if your the one who actually plays the ability to negate it then i dont see any reason why it wouldnt work

For the Money being destroyed is an effect, not a cost, so G-Corp has no trigger at all.

Tagrineth said:

For the Money being destroyed is an effect, not a cost, so G-Corp has no trigger at all.

But arent you paying a cost to negate it? Thats why Anti-destroy doesnt work because its a cost and not just an effect?

Well, you're destroying it because your opponent paid the cost of committing two foundations. G-Corp only works when the cost IS destroying a foundation. But the "cost" in For the Money's negation isn't the destruction of your foundation, but the committal of two of their foundations. So G-Corp really has no trigger to respond from.

From the current wording, I would say that it would not allow you to add it to your hand. From what I understand, this is the sequence of events:

Opponent Rs with For the Money

You pay the cost of 2 foundations to blow it up.

For the Money blows up as an effect of the card.

Committing the 2 foundations is the cost, not blowing up For the Money.

Thus, the card is blown up by its own effect, but the commital is a cost.

NOTE: I am going off the assumption that the current ruling on For the Money is equivalent to having "R Commit 2 Foundations: Cancel this foundation's other effect and destroy this foundation. Always playable by your opponent." It could be interpreted as "R Commit 2 Foundations, Destroy this card: Cancel" but I see no reason for this, and the 'cancel and destroy' seems to suggest otherwise.

Follow up question:

Journey of Repentance vs For the Money

Does Journey get to save For the Money's bacon?

-Mr. Tinman

Yes, it would. The ability would still be negated, but your opponent is the one destroying your foundation according to FTM's text so Journey of Repentance would substitute the destruction.

Shame they don't share symbols but I'm sure someone will try it.

Um, Heihachi will have a field day. I am already looking at a Chaos/Earth deck, and this makes it all the better. I mean, they commit 2, I blow up one, and can still use the abilitiy? Yes please.