Demigod

By alboy, in Talisman Rules Questions

When you draw the Demigod & do not have enough Craft to take a Spell does the Demigod get discarded straight away or when someone lands on him & is able to take a Spell.

I think there is a reason he is worded differently from Enchanter/Fairy/Phantom, which all read something along the lines for "the first character...". Demigod gives you a Spell if you can take it, but then goes poof regardless of whether you got a Spell or not.

The Demigod only gets discarded when a character is given a Spell by the Demigod!

What is the wording on the demigod card?

Dam said:

I think there is a reason he is worded differently from Enchanter/Fairy/Phantom, which all read something along the lines for "the first character...". Demigod gives you a Spell if you can take it, but then goes poof regardless of whether you got a Spell or not.

"A Demigod grants you the Spell of your choice if your Craft allows. Look through the Spell deck and take one of your choice. Then mix together the Spell deck and Spell discard pile and shuffle them. The Demigod then vanishes to the discard pile."

It is different wording then the Magician from the same Reaper set, who reads "whether or not you use his power...", but I still read DG as ABC (Spell, shuffle, discard). Do A if able, then B and C regardless of A.

talismanamsilat said:

The Demigod only gets discarded when a character is given a Spell by the Demigod!

So if you already have your max spells the demigod stays on the board and someone else can use him? If so i messed this up in the last game I played llorando.gif

No. Read the card text as posted by Dam.

A Demigod grants you the Spell of your choice if your Craft allows . Look through the Spell deck and take one of your choice. Then mix together the Spell deck and Spell discard pile and shuffle them. The Demigod then vanishes to the discard pile .

Emphasis added.

katana_one said:

No. Read the card text as posted by Dam.

A Demigod grants you the Spell of your choice if your Craft allows . Look through the Spell deck and take one of your choice. Then mix together the Spell deck and Spell discard pile and shuffle them. The Demigod then vanishes to the discard pile .

Emphasis added.

What if you add another emphasis, to the "Then mix together..." part? If no Spell discard, can't shuffle the decks together, so Demigod won't leave?

The Demigod only gets discarded when a character is given a Spell by the Demigod!

If a character cannot gain a Spell, the Demigod remains on the board until a character can gain a Spell from him!

talismanamsilat said:

The Demigod only gets discarded when a character is given a Spell by the Demigod!

If a character cannot gain a Spell, the Demigod remains on the board until a character can gain a Spell from him!

Source?

Dam said:

katana_one said:

No. Read the card text as posted by Dam.

A Demigod grants you the Spell of your choice if your Craft allows . Look through the Spell deck and take one of your choice. Then mix together the Spell deck and Spell discard pile and shuffle them. The Demigod then vanishes to the discard pile .

Emphasis added.

What if you add another emphasis, to the "Then mix together..." part? If no Spell discard, can't shuffle the decks together, so Demigod won't leave?

You can't even let someone agree with you without nitpicking?

There's a discard pile, it just has 0 cards in it. gui%C3%B1o.gif

DG is pretty poorly worded. Other giver-Strangers, Fairy/Enchanter/Phantom state that they give X to the first person qualified and then go poof. Magician (from Reaper just as DG) states that regardless of if you take his offer or not, he goes poof. DG wording is ambigious.

I agree it could be worded better - always been a problem with Talisman.

But the important parts, in my opinion, are the parts I emphasized above. The two sentences in the middle about looking through the deck and then shuffling it are just instructions on what to do if you qualify for the spell. Well, that's how I read it at least. If we remove those instructions (for example, if your craft is insufficient), we're left with getting a free spell if your craft allows, then the Demigod goes bye-bye.

It's a Demigod, why would it stick around waiting for some puny mortal who might be more worthy gran_risa.gif ? Dumb Troll was an indicator of the mental abilities of the people in the world, he wouldn't want to spend a moment longer on this plane.

Exactly. happy.gif

talismanamsilat said:

The Demigod only gets discarded when a character is given a Spell by the Demigod!

If a character cannot gain a Spell, the Demigod remains on the board until a character can gain a Spell from him!

thanks for clarifying this Elliot aplauso.gif

A demigod grants YOU........ of YOUR choice......, if you can`t take any spells he vanishes..... pretty clear to me:)