Mobile line of sight question

By Clark, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

If a mobile figure ends their turn on an impassible location - how should I interpret the following from the rules reference?

"If a figure with mobile occupies a space containing blocking terrain, line of sight can be traced to that figure, spaces can be counted to that figure, and adjacent figures can attack that figure"

- Can line of sight be traced even through friendly or enemy figures?

- What about other impassible or blocking squares?

- Or, is the rule only saying that the blocking terrain square that is being targeted no longer blocks line of sight?

For example, in the core skirmish mission "get to the ship" features a ship (on map tile 1?) that has four red impassible squares together - what if a probe droid ends its turn on one of the four squares? I understand that enemy units adjacent can use melee. But what about enemy ranged attacks? Can line of site be traced through any of the other three impassible squares? What about through figures?

Last note, I assume the wording is very specific and the mobile unit cannot trace line of site to another figure in this scenario.

Thanks!

I always interpreted that to mean that when a mobile figure is on blocking terrain, and when you are doing anything involving that figure (i.e. attacking, whether as the attacker or the target), you just pretend that single space is no longer blocking, but other neighboring blocking spaces remain blocking.

So ranged and melee can both attack it as if the space it's sitting on did not have any blocking edges around it, and it can similarly attack outward. But anything else that would block LoS to/from the mobile figure (like other figures) still block LoS normally, and the mobile figure's blocking space still blocks LoS between any two other figures; it's only in a context involving the mobile figure itself that you'd pretend the blocking lines aren't there.

In your "get to the ship" example, I'd say that a probe droid sitting on one corner of the four blocking spaces would make it behave like three blocking spaces in an L shape -- so it can attack and be attacked in the direction of the corner it's sitting on, but the three other blocking spaces around it would still block LoS in those directions.

To clarify that last bit:

[1] [ ] [ ] [2]

[6] [ D ] [ ]

[ ] [7]

[5] [ ] [4] [3]

B=blocking terrain

D=droid sitting on blocking terrain

The droid has LoS to and from spaces #1-3, because when tracing LoS involving the droid itself, you pretend that its own space is not blocking. The droid can also be melee attacked from spaces #2 and #7 without Reach, and from spaces #1 and #3 with Reach.

But there is no LoS between the droid and spaces #4-6, because the other three blocking spaces are still blocking. There is also no LoS between spaces #1 and #7, because the droid's space is still blocking when tracing LoS between two figures other than the droid itself.

Edited by taleden

Thanks for the reply and helpful diagram for reference. :)

I think I share your opinion/interpretation but I still have some doubts. :) I especially wonder now about the figure being able to trace line of sight to enemies. The wording is very specific that line of site and other attacks can happen to the figure and not to and from. But, what you described feels right.

Thematically, if a figure is 'on' blocking terrain, isn't it typically elevated terrain? In which case (now that the z-axis is involved), figures might no longer block line of sight to/from them? Just a thought...

"If a figure with mobile occupies a space containing blocking terrain, line of sight can be traced to that figure, spaces can be counted to that figure, and adjacent figures can attack that figure"

I'm fairly certain they put this rule in to avoid confusion. Particularly, can I trace line of sight to the back corners of a mobile figure on blocking terrain even if tracing through that blocking terrain? Yes you can.

Walls, other squares of blocking terrain, or another figure can still block line of sight to a mobile figure on blocking terrain.

What I never noticed before is that the above rule only applies to tracing line of sight TO the mobile figure on blocking terrain. It doesn't apply when tracing line of sight FROM the mobile figure. So the mobile figure on blocking terrain can't use back corners to trace line of sight. The blocking terrain will block line of sight from those back corners.

Yeah, if you torture the phrasing enough, it will certainly confess -- I can see your reasoning for that asymmetry, but it sure feels unnecessarily fussy and counter-intuitive. It's *possible* that FFG very specifically intended for it to work that way as some kind of trade-off for mobile figures, but I find it much more likely that they didn't notice they'd written in that loophole and actually intended it to be simpler (such as the "pretend the whole space is non-blocking when dealing with LoS to/from a figure on that space").

I at least am pretty comfortable house ruling the simpler interpretation, unless FFG issues a specific clarification of their reasoning for making it that complicated.

To clarify that last bit:

[1] [ ] [ ] [2]

[6] [ D ] [ ]

[ ] [7]

[5] [ ] [4] [3]

B=blocking terrain

D=droid sitting on blocking terrain

The droid has LoS to and from spaces #1-3, because when tracing LoS involving the droid itself, you pretend that its own space is not blocking. The droid can also be melee attacked from spaces #2 and #7 without Reach, and from spaces #1 and #3 with Reach.

But there is no LoS between the droid and spaces #4-6, because the other three blocking spaces are still blocking. There is also no LoS between spaces #1 and #7, because the droid's space is still blocking when tracing LoS between two figures other than the droid itself.

Why would the droid have LoS to #3 ?

It cannot draw lines to 2 corners of #3 (being blocked by #4 and #7) - please explain.

Edited by thePREdiger

To clarify that last bit:

[1] [ ] [ ] [2]

[6] [ D ] [ ]

[ ] [7]

[5] [ ] [4] [3]

B=blocking terrain

D=droid sitting on blocking terrain

The droid has LoS to and from spaces #1-3, because when tracing LoS involving the droid itself, you pretend that its own space is not blocking. The droid can also be melee attacked from spaces #2 and #7 without Reach, and from spaces #1 and #3 with Reach.

But there is no LoS between the droid and spaces #4-6, because the other three blocking spaces are still blocking. There is also no LoS between spaces #1 and #7, because the droid's space is still blocking when tracing LoS between two figures other than the droid itself.

Why would the droid have LoS to #3 ?

It cannot draw lines to 2 corners of #3 (being blocked by #4 and #7) - please explain.

The numbers don't necessarily represent figures in that diagram, just labels for empty spaces. So D can trace from its southeast corner to space #3's two north corners through space #7 which is empty.

Even so, a figure at #4 wouldn't make a difference because the southeast blocking terrain would remain blocking, so D's southwest corner can't trace south anyway.

Thanks for the explanation - i understood the numbers as figures/heroes.

Cheers!

Thanks for the explanation on this.

I bumped this thread because I was thinking about Boba Fett (and I'm guessing others may too) and his mobile ability and crazy movement points. I was wondering if he could move, shoot, then move into a red box to hide out and avoid enemy fire.

Nope.