Nightmare

By babelfish666, in UFS Rules Q & A

R Commit: After you play an attack, it gets +X damage. X equals the number of cards in your opponents staging area that were destroyed this turn.

Now as far as i can see, this ability will always grant +0 damage, because any cards that were destroyed that turn are no longer in my opponents staging area. Is it just poor wording?

....geesh dont gripe about these little things. You obviously know what it means.
If 4 were destroyed that turn, then your attack will gain 4 damage.

Yes i know that, its just a precaution incase i play an opponent who requires a rules ruling to have been made etc etc

...why would ANYONE assume that an ability does nothing? Seriously...

because it is worded very poorly?

babelfish666 said:

because it is worded very poorly?

So that clearly means that the ability should do nothing. I mean, for real. They printed a character with R Commit: Do nothing. That's what you're saying? That's clearly the logical way to interpret this.

Thanks for the answer Hayamachop, it obviously is meant to say "X equals the number of cards that were destroyed in your opponents staging area this turn", thats all i needed lol.

Tagrineth said:

...why would ANYONE assume that an ability does nothing? Seriously...

They might make that assumption because there are other cards that have been worded poorly and ruled to work (and by work I mean not) in the way they were written.