Prey upon doubt - Strain - Bleed

By Celeanor, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello everyone this will be a somewhat long post so sorry in advance.

I've been discussing with a friend regarding the subversive tactics skill Prey upon doubt (PuD), strain and bleed to determine what the rules actually says. Me (imperial) and my friend (rebel) do not agree on some aspects so I figured I'd make a post here to get some feedback. According to RRG p.23 regarding strain it is stated as follows:

A hero cannot choose to suffer strain if the amount of strain he has suffered would exceed his Endurance. This includes suffering strain to gain movement points or using abilities with a strain cost. If an effect forces a hero to suffer C that exceeds his Endurance, he instead suffers one H for each C he cannot suffer. (RRG p.23)

Then one could argue, as people have done here in this forum an elsewhere - If a figure gets a bleed condition and that figures is maxed out on strain i.e. has equal strain as the figures endurance that figure must remove the bleed before any action because according to the rule quoted above. A hero cannot chose to suffer strain over endurance and take damage instead. However the following statement from Justin Kemppainen, Assistant Board Game Managers on Fantasy Flight Games address this argument.

" Strain caused by for example bleed is not a "Choice".

A "choice" in regards to strain is using strain to power an ability.

A:Yes. In this case, you would take damage instead."

Justin Kemppainen
Assistant Board Game Manager
Fantasy Flight Games

From this we can say that the +1 strain is not a choice when dealing with bleed and taking another actions other than removing the condition. Hence a hero can always choose to take other actions other than removing the bleed. If that other action happens to increase strain over the endurance of that figure. It would in accordance with the RRG get +1 damage. My friend nor I think this is anything to argue about. We've played like this from the start. However, when we begin discussing PuD things becomes complicated. PuD states the following:

"Exhaust this card when a Rebel figure declares an attack. The Rebel chooses to either suffer 1 strain or apply +1 evade to the defense results"

Based on this I would argue that PuD constitutes as a choice hence if a hero has maxed out strain that figure cannot choose to suffer 1 strain but must apply +1 evade to the defense result. To back that argument up I found the following quote in a a discussion regarding PuD and how it works for allies. A member quotes Paul Winchester, Creative Content Developer at Fantasy Flight Games

"The restriction on optionally suffering strain is only on heroes who have maxed out their Endurance stat so an ally could choose to suffer the s train for Prey Upon Doubt and take it as damage.

Thanks!"

Paul Winchester
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games

I can understand Pauls statement that the restriction on optionally suffer strain is only applied to heroes, not to allies. Since it is clearly stated in the beginning of the strain rule " A hero cannot... " This also implies that after exhausing PuD on an ally, that figure can always choose either +1 strain or +1 evade to the defense. Whereas a hero figure has a restriction steaming from the strain rule. Hence can make a choice as long as that figure has not maxed out his strain. When the hero is maxed out the restriction kicks in and the hero must choose +1 evade instead since the hero cannot choose strain as it would lead to damage violating the RRG strain rule.

However my friend argues that. No, same rules as on bleed applies. the +1 strain of PuD is similar to bleed and as such. can always be made regardless of whether or not the hero has maxed out his strain i.e. a hero in that situation can choose either to take +1 damage rather than +1 evade on the defense. I say no a hero cannot. My friend then argues that what I and in this case Paul misses is that Justin states that a " choice " in regards to strain is using strain to power an ability only. Since PuD is not powering an ability nor is it a condition it means that the choice rules do not apply and PuD and bleed should be treated in the same way.

I on the other hand argues that PuD and Bleed is two different things, and the choice aspect relates to what the choice is. In the bleed situation. You do not choose to increase strain. You either choose to remove bleed as an action or do some other action instead, and doing the latter effects the figure by adding 1 to strain or +1 damage if strain goes over the endurance. Whereas PuD is a choice of either increasing strain or adding an evade to the defense role. Hence PuD falls under the strain rule i.e. the hero cannot chose to increase strain over endurance and take dmg instead of increasing the evade on the attack.

Would very much appreciate if FFG would clear this up, as the subversive tactics skill is rather vital for that skill tree.

/Celeanor

You do not choose at bleed.

The text of bleed is:

During your activation, after you resolve an action other than the action listed below, you suffer 1[strain].

---

[Action]: Discard this condition.

So you do not choose to suffer the strain. You do an action other than that, so then bleed triggers and you suffer strain (or damage if strained out).

PuD says:

Exhaust [...] The Rebel figure chooses [...]

So there the hero (allies are separately) chooses to suffer strain which is denied by RRG page 23. As you pointed out. I'm not sure if the same reasoning from someone else helps to convince your friend though.

Hello

I sent in the question to FFG and got a response from Paul, which was nice and quick. Both me and my friends tend to prefer RAW alongside errata and comments from FFG on rules. So this question have been answered :)

Your rules interpretation is correct. The difference lies in what the choice is concerning: are you choosing to suffer strain, as in the case of PuD or triggering an ability, or are you choosing to do something else that results in you suffering a strain, such as performing an action while Bleeding.

Justin's ruling cited in the counterargument is simply meant as giving an example that powering an ability is a choice as opposed to suffering strain as the result of the Bleeding condition. It is not meant to say that powering an ability is the only method by which a figure can choose to suffer strain.
Thanks!"

Paul Winchester
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games