Bringer of Fire question

By BrooklynMike, in CoC Rules Discussion

Dadajef said:


Amante said:

Also keep in mind you can do tricky stuff like leaving one Bringer at home and committing another to a story, exhausting the one at home to destroy one of the opponent's characters, and then untapping the committed Bringer with Arcane so you can use it to destroy another of the opponent's characters after story resolution is finished. Granted, you have to win Arcane with the committed Bringer for that to work, but as you can destroy almost any of the opponent's characters, you can use the one that stays at home to make sure you win Arcane at the story the other is committed to.

It doesn't work, you must exhaust all your copies to trigger the effect. If you have 2 BoF you must exhaust the 2 copies, not just one.

In your example, you could destroy only one character after you untap the commited BoF, because your two Bof will be ready and so you can exhaust both.

I disagree , I usually play that way the card simly states that you are obliged t match the condition n order to activate the effect . It doesn't say if you are able to exaust at leasf two bringer . I use Y go and Ancient too boost BOF effect

personally i think the bof that you control are the only ones to be exhausted in this instance, the wording i think was just done wrong, i think its inteded use was 2 exhaust 2 or more of your own bofs to cause the effect, however i think the commit to story the exhaust a non commited one, then return with an arcane struggle and do again is a valid (if dirty) tactic as it still does what the text says you should do

phantomsurfer said:

I disagree , I usually play that way the card simly states that you are obliged t match the condition n order to activate the effect . It doesn't say if you are able to exaust at leasf two bringer . I use Y go and Ancient too boost BOF effect

"it doesn't say if you are able to exaust at leasf two bringer." No it says you must exhaust ALL your copies. If you control 3 BOF, you should exhaust 3 BOF, if you control 2 BOF, you exhaust 2. And if you have only 1 BOF you can't do anything.

If you can't exhaust all Bof, the effect can't be triggered because you haven't pay the entire cost for the effect.

with the you can only exhaust your own cards to pay for effects makes perfect sense to me. but it does seem you still need to exhaust all copies you control so if one is exhausted then you cant trigger BoF. also if it would be a bit more powerful if you exhausted their BoF and destroy one of their characters. though rare you would be removing 2 characters (exhaust and destroy), or more, for a turn.

Dadajef said:

phantomsurfer said:

I disagree , I usually play that way the card simly states that you are obliged t match the condition n order to activate the effect . It doesn't say if you are able to exaust at leasf two bringer . I use Y go and Ancient too boost BOF effect

"it doesn't say if you are able to exaust at leasf two bringer." No it says you must exhaust ALL your copies. If you control 3 BOF, you should exhaust 3 BOF, if you control 2 BOF, you exhaust 2. And if you have only 1 BOF you can't do anything.

If you can't exhaust all Bof, the effect can't be triggered because you haven't pay the entire cost for the effect.

I know the wording f the card is poor . But actually i think that the cost i to exaust all the copies you control . This means for example ( as you said) that if you control 3 copies of BOF 2 ready and 1 exausted you cannot use the ability ? Or Am i Wrong ?

Yes, I understand the effect as you said.

I see no reason to believe that one of them can't be exhausted already, due to the wording.

For one, you CAN exhaust something that has already been exhausted (or ready something that isn't exhausted, for that matter). Cards generally don't specify that something has to be in a specific state to be exhausted / readied, but a few do. Bringer of Fire, however, does not. It merely says "exhaust all copies of Bringer of Fire". If one of them is already exhausted, that's not my problem. I'm still properly following the instructions as printed on the card.

If it was the design intent that all copies had to be unexhausted to properly exhaust for the effect, errata would be necessary, because the current wording doesn't support that.

Amante said:

I see no reason to believe that one of them can't be exhausted already, due to the wording.

For one, you CAN exhaust something that has already been exhausted (or ready something that isn't exhausted, for that matter). Cards generally don't specify that something has to be in a specific state to be exhausted / readied, but a few do. Bringer of Fire, however, does not. It merely says "exhaust all copies of Bringer of Fire". If one of them is already exhausted, that's not my problem. I'm still properly following the instructions as printed on the card.

If it was the design intent that all copies had to be unexhausted to properly exhaust for the effect, errata would be necessary, because the current wording doesn't support that.

I totally agree with yr points cards line panic for example wold be useless if the opponent has at least one exh char. ..... i think the original thought was to have at least two ready char to match the effect but at this moment , yes you can use and abuse the bringers .....

Amante said:

I see no reason to believe that one of them can't be exhausted already, due to the wording.

For one, you CAN exhaust something that has already been exhausted (or ready something that isn't exhausted, for that matter). Cards generally don't specify that something has to be in a specific state to be exhausted / readied, but a few do. Bringer of Fire, however, does not. It merely says "exhaust all copies of Bringer of Fire". If one of them is already exhausted, that's not my problem. I'm still properly following the instructions as printed on the card.

If it was the design intent that all copies had to be unexhausted to properly exhaust for the effect, errata would be necessary, because the current wording doesn't support that.

i have to say youre competely wrong. you can not exhaust something that is already exhausted..... so i could play clover club bouncer until all your characters have 0 skill? if i can exhaust something that is already exhausted i could use this ability until Cthulhu awakens from his slumber.

BoF clearly says exhausted all copies, thats part of paying for the card. it doesnt say all copies of BoF must be exhausted to trigger this ability. and as has been pointed out you can only pay for abilities with cards you control, so thats what keeps it limited to your side of the table. all copies of BoF you control must be ready to use this ability.

with your logic i could play pulled under and as long as i have a character with 2 terror icons it doesnt matter if they are exhausted or not before i play it, as long something is exhausted that meets 2 terror requirement.....

100% agree with PearlJamaholic.

!!!...tell me how do you think you can exhaust an exhausted card?

it seems plain the idea behind this card was to have a minimum of 2 copies owned by you on the table, you would exhaust both to do the action.

however it seems that as the wording is not explicit, you could in fact have used one of your copies first (an example) so its exhausted, then just turn the last one to complete the effect

darknight said:

however it seems that as the wording is not explicit, you could in fact have used one of your copies first (an example) so its exhausted, then just turn the last one to complete the effect

Sorry, but the wording is clear: you must be able to exhaust ALL copies of BoF in order to trigger the effect, so if there is one copy exhausted then you couldn't exhaust ALL the copies and then the effect will not occur.

Please, take a moment and read it carefully:

"Action : Exhaust all copies of Bringer of

Fire to choose and destroy a character with

skill 4 or lower. Use this ability only if you

control more than 1 card named Bringer

of Fire."

Cheers!!

In fact, It's very simple; you can have an EFFECT exhaust an exhausted card, but you cannot pay for a COST by exhausting an enhausted card.


EchPiEl said:

In fact, It's very simple; you can have an EFFECT exhaust an exhausted card, but you cannot pay for a COST by exhausting an enhausted card.

If your effect is to exhaust a card and target an exhausted card, you have no result (see rules about valid target). You CAN'T exhaust an exhausted card, you can't restore an restored card, you can't drive insane an insane card, you can't ready an readied card, etc...

Dadajef said:


EchPiEl said:

you can't ready an readied card, etc...

I do not agree just give a look to FAQ on Y'go part.

Look at the Ygo Faq : " You can target a ready Character, but the first part (ready the character) does not resolve ".

You must be careful with " Targeting " someone with an effect and " Resolving " this effect.

You can target a ready character, right. (targetting)
You can't ready a readied character (resolution), like exhaust an exhausted character, etc... And explain me how you physically ready a card already readied without exhausting it ?