Can Gideon+Masterstroke command a non-hero ally to attack twice in a row?

By taleden, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Ordinarily only heroes can attack twice per activation, but when Gideon uses Masterstroke to command a non-hero ally twice in a row, could they use both commands to attack? It seems to me that they could, since they're independent actions outside of the ally's regular activation; but you could also argue that an ally cannot "use more than one action to attack on each activation" still applies even when it's Gideon's activation and not the ally's own activation.

Thoughts?

A non-hero figure can only use one of its actions to attack per activation.

However, outside its activation (when it's not that figure's turn), it is NOT limited by that rule and may attack numerous times from other abilities.

However, outside its activation (when it's not that figure's turn), it is NOT limited by that rule and may attack numerous times from other abilities.

Curiusly, this is not the case. I was looking this up in the RRG p.5 and found this at the 2nd bullet point in "Rebel Allies":

Rebel allies are not heroes. During their activation, they

cannot interact with crates or rest. Rebel allies can perform
only one attack each activation, and follow all other rules for
non-hero figures.

They can only perform one attack each activation . It doesn't specifically list their activation.

So to me it seems that they can't get 2 attacks via the 2 commands from Masterstroke.

But they certrainly can attack twice a round with Gideon's help.

Edited by jacenat

Special Situations Regarding Attacks (RRG pg. 6)

First bullet point, second paragraph

If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation.

However, outside its activation (when it's not that figure's turn), it is NOT limited by that rule and may attack numerous times from other abilities.

Curiusly, this is not the case. I was looking this up in the RRG p.5 and found this at the 2nd bullet point in "Rebel Allies":

Rebel allies are not heroes. During their activation, they

cannot interact with crates or rest. Rebel allies can perform
only one attack each activation, and follow all other rules for
non-hero figures.

They can only perform one attack each activation . It doesn't specifically list their activation.

So to me it seems that they can't get 2 attacks via the 2 commands from Masterstroke.

But they certrainly can attack twice a round with Gideon's help.

The non hero figure is not activated when Gideon is using his command and then masterstroke, so what is it that you are arguing?

It's an interrupt when Gideon does his thing, not an activation for that ally character. Thus what you quote, doesn't apply.

Special Situations Regarding Attacks (RRG pg. 6)

First bullet point, second paragraph

If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation.

I think that settles it. Thanks!

Special Situations Regarding Attacks (RRG pg. 6)
First bullet point, second paragraph

If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation.

That clears it up then. 2 Attacks possible.

However, outside its activation (when it's not that figure's turn), it is NOT limited by that rule and may attack numerous times from other abilities.

Curiusly, this is not the case. I was looking this up in the RRG p.5 and found this at the 2nd bullet point in "Rebel Allies":

Rebel allies are not heroes. During their activation, they

cannot interact with crates or rest. Rebel allies can perform
only one attack each activation, and follow all other rules for
non-hero figures.

They can only perform one attack each activation . It doesn't specifically list their activation.

So to me it seems that they can't get 2 attacks via the 2 commands from Masterstroke.

But they certrainly can attack twice a round with Gideon's help.

The non hero figure is not activated when Gideon is using his command and then masterstroke, so what is it that you are arguing?

It's an interrupt when Gideon does his thing, not an activation for that ally character. Thus what you quote, doesn't apply.

My argument was that the words used was "each activation", this includes Gideon's activation during which you trigger Masterstroke. If not for the passage in RRG p.6 JLeisten quoted, Allies could only perfom one attack each activation, this would nclude Gideon's activation.

Special Situations Regarding Attacks (RRG pg. 6)

First bullet point, second paragraph

If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation.

That clears it up then. 2 Attacks possible.

However, outside its activation (when it's not that figure's turn), it is NOT limited by that rule and may attack numerous times from other abilities.

Curiusly, this is not the case. I was looking this up in the RRG p.5 and found this at the 2nd bullet point in "Rebel Allies":

Rebel allies are not heroes. During their activation, they

cannot interact with crates or rest. Rebel allies can perform

only one attack each activation, and follow all other rules for

non-hero figures.

They can only perform one attack each activation . It doesn't specifically list their activation.

So to me it seems that they can't get 2 attacks via the 2 commands from Masterstroke.

But they certrainly can attack twice a round with Gideon's help.

The non hero figure is not activated when Gideon is using his command and then masterstroke, so what is it that you are arguing?

It's an interrupt when Gideon does his thing, not an activation for that ally character. Thus what you quote, doesn't apply.

My argument was that the words used was "each activation", this includes Gideon's activation during which you trigger Masterstroke. If not for the passage in RRG p.6 JLeisten quoted, Allies could only perfom one attack each activation, this would nclude Gideon's activation.

I disagree.

The attack being assigned each activation is for the activating figure. It isn't about the interrupt whereupon an attack or several attacks are being assigned.

The activation restriction applies only to the figure activated. When you assign attacks to figure that aren't active, they aren't restricted by the activation restriction.

The attack being assigned each activation is for the activating figure. It isn't about the interrupt whereupon an attack or several attacks are being assigned.

There are other instances where FFG cleared up that interrupts do indeed can happen during activations and that skills listing "during an activation" or "during your activation" should be taken literally in these instances. I can't remember for what skill that applies, but it was some interrupt ... maybe I can dig it up.

Like I said above, the RRG p.6 paragraph clears it up perfectly, so in this case, arguments about activations are moot.