Can an imperial figure stop on the rebel's starting point? I'm playing Imperial Hospitality and the Imperial keep saying I can't finish my move with the prisoner on a space occupied by an imperial figure. So my prisoner can't escape! Should I kill the imperial figure or the imperial player?
Can an imperial figure stop on the rebel's starting point?
Yes a figure can be on the same space as an exit point, and yes you cannot end your move on the same space occupied by a figure.
However:
"Escaping" pg 12 RRG
Certain mission rules can allow a figure to escape. In order to escape, the figure must spend one movement point while in or adjacent to the space indicated in the mission’s rules.
So keep in mind you can still escape in adjacent spaces to the exit space. It is possible for the Imp player to cover all adjacent spaces to the exit, though (such as the AT-ST or just a bunch of small figures).
So let's make an example.
N = Nexu
[N] = Exit point under the Nexu
F = Figure
+--- +---+---+
| | N | N |
+--- +---+---+
| F | N |[N]|
+--- +---+---+
Does F need 3 (or 4 or 5) movement points to escape? Or F just can't escape?
So let's make an example.
N = Nexu
[N] = Exit point under the Nexu
F = Figure
+--- +---+---+
| | N | N |
+--- +---+---+
| F | N |[N]|
+--- +---+---+
Does F need 3 (or 4 or 5) movement points to escape? Or F just can't escape?
The Figure "F" can use 3 movement points to Escape. 2 movement points for moving into a space occupied by the Nexu, and 1 movement point to Escape (while adjacent to the escape spot indicated by the mission rules).
Agreed, 3 to escape in that situation. So if the hallway is long enough it would be better for the Nexu to be one step closer to the "F"igure, so that it costs 2+2+1 to take two steps through the Nexu and then 1 to escape.
Agreed, 3 to escape in that situation. So if the hallway is long enough it would be better for the Nexu to be one step closer to the "F"igure, so that it costs 2+2+1 to take two steps through the Nexu and then 1 to escape.
In that situation (Imperial Hospitality) one step closer would allow me to walk on the Nexu's side and then escape with a diagonal move with no penalties.
However the imperial player argues that the escaping movement requires you to stand in an adjacent space occupied by the Nexu and you can't stop on it. I feel this unfair. I can understand the case the imperial player places lots of figures all around the exit so I can't escape. But I should be able to escape even if an imperal's figure stands on the exit token when I have enough HP and movement points to do it.
Edited by IkonI seem to recall reading an FFG ruling that escaping is not a "separate action" that requires ending your movement, and therefore does not require that you have an empty space in which to stop and escape; you just need to get onto a space adjacent to the exit and still have 1 movement point left to spend on the escape, which is a kind of continuation of the movement. It's not in the official FAQ but maybe somewhere in the unofficial FAQ thread?
escape is not a separate action, thus you can escape so long as you are on or adjacent to the escape point.
You don't need to stop on that spot and then perform a separate action, thus needing it to be an open spot.
If the player says otherwise, have him back it up showing that escape is a separate action that happens after your figure stops.