Question on Initiative

By emmjay, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Page 4 of the Skirmish guide states:

"Determine Initiative: The player who has the lowest total cost of Deployment cards chooses which player begins the game with the initiative token. In the case of a tie, players determine initiative randomly. The player with initiative will choose deployment zones and resolve the first activation during the first round."

To break the tie, per the rules it says to roll 1 blue die (using range at the number, highest wins).

Ok, here is my qustion. If determined randomly, is the player who is determined randomly to start with iniatiave allowed to NOT accept initiative and pass it to their opponent? I ask this because the only time it says a player can pass iniatiave is if they have a lower point total. If determined randomly, it does NOT say the winner can pass. It is two very seperate statements and I really want to get this cleared up. The Skirmish Tournament Rules say that Iniatiave is determined as defined by the Skirmish Guide and has nothing further to say on the matter. The FAQ has nothing to say either.

The high roll gets the initiative on the first turn. You are not randomly determining who *CHOOSES* who has first initiative, you are randomly determining who starts with initiative.

Edited by Fizz

The high roll gets the initiative on the first turn. You are not randomly determining who *CHOOSES* who has first initiative, you are randomly determining who starts with initiative.

Again, yes or no? I ask this because it was, for me, a big issue at Regionals and I was forced by my opponent, after rolling and he "won" to take initiative. A couple of maps, with his list, I wanted him to have it.

The high roll gets the initiative on the first turn. You are not randomly determining who *CHOOSES* who has first initiative, you are randomly determining who starts with initiative.

Again, yes or no? I ask this because it was, for me, a big issue at Regionals and I was forced by my opponent, after rolling and he "won" to take initiative. A couple of maps, with his list, I wanted him to have it.

Fizz is saying that whoever "wins" the roll, gets initiative.

This means that player has initiative, they didn't win a choice of initiative. Thus no passing it to other player.