Rules clarification needed too

By KlimCh, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hi everyone,

I couldn't find an answer to my question in the rules or the official rulings, so I hope for an answer from the community.

An investigator is alone in a location and having an encounter in Arkham which says: "a gate and a monster appears".

How does the game proceed from this point? Does the investigator first face the monster, and then get sucked into the Other world? If this is the case, if the investigator is defeated, does he stay in Arkham or get LiTaS? Or is he immediately sucked into the Other World?

Thanks beforehand.

You'll find the official answer in some of the FAQs. (I might not remember this correctly). When both a gate and a monster appear, you immediately fight the monster, just like when only a monster appears. If you lose, you are taken to the asylum or hospital depending on what happened and the monster remains in the location! If you win, you are sucked through the gate and delayed on the other side, just like when only a gate appears. You are not lost in time and space unless unconscious or insane in the other worlds.

Borealian is mistaken. When both a monster and gate appear, you are drawn into the gate immediately and do not face the monster, even if you want to . In this way, such an encounter is exactly the same as if a gate appears during the Mythos phase.

So this circumvents all your questions. You don't face the monster—but you are still delayed and consequently, you can expect to have one more encounter than you normally would before returning from the OW.

Turns out I was completely wrong. From the FAQ :


Q:
When a location card says “a gate and a monster
appear,” which appearance is resolved first?
A:
The gate appears first, and any investigators at the loca-
tion are drawn through the gate. Then the monster appears.
Monsters that appear as a result of these encounters stay
on the board, count against the monster limit, can go to the
Outskirts, etc., as normal.

Q:
When a location card says “a gate and a monster
appear,” is a doom token added to the doom track?
A:
Yes

EDIT: And ninja'd too. Not my day.

Edited by Borealian

You cared enough to look it up without having seen my response, which is a cool thing to do.

Thanks, guys, somehow I missed it in the FAQ.