Tulsa Regional EYY Top 8

By TasteTheRainbow, in X-Wing Battle Reports

I started playing about a year ago and have flown Corran lists almost exclusively for that year. My first real competitive events were the store champs. I made the cut three times and was immediately eliminated by the eventual winner of each tourney every time. Since I won the majority of other local tournaments I had attended this was frustrating. In my last store championship in mid-March I flew the same list I ended up bringing for my first-ever regional.

Corran Horn

Advanced Sensors

Push the Limit

R2-D2

Engine Upgrade

Gold Squadron Pilot

BTL-A4

Ion Cannon Turret

R3-A2

Gold Squadron Pilot

BTL-A4

Ion Cannon Turret

Bomb Loadout

Proximity Mines

The list did pretty well in the store champ games, only losing to a whisper mini-swarm in the final Swiss round (We had both made the cut and I probably could have just turtled to a modified win if I wanted to) and a Fel/Whisper/Doom that eliminated me. I had previously beaten this second list the same day. My list also completely dominates dual IG and firespray lists. The amount of stress that y wing with r3a2 generates just wrecks people. And even though it is a 3-ship rebel, it actually fires 6 times in a good turn of shooting.

So 6ish weeks later, having played just a single game of X-wing to prepare for regionals, I drove up to Tulsa and just used the same list again. After the decloak change, I thought I had a decent shot at out-maneuvering even Whisper. I was a little concerned about Panic Attack and very worried about 4BZ, but when I walked around the room there were loads of firesprays, Decimators and IG's on tables. I felt pretty good about my guess on the overall look of the lists. I didn't see a single 4B list of any kind.

I'm going to try and summarize my games. Human memory, however, is quite malleable and unreliable. If anyone remembers a game differently just let me know and I'll add your comments.

Round 1

4BZ