Point Defense Reroute

By Madaghmire, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

When equipped, Point Defense Reroute allows you to reroll critical hit results from anti-squadron ship armament. My question is, how many times?

For example, lets say I have a Neb B-Escort attacking a TIE fighter. I roll two blues, one comes up hit, the other crit. So I reroll the crit, and it comes up crit again. Am I stuck with that, or may I reroll it again until it comes up either hit or accuracy?

Good question. Rerolling over and over sounds overpowered, but you're right it sure does read that way.

Dice can be refilled multiple times.

Point defence lets you re-roll crits but only at short range.

So it has some form of limitation but it looks like you will get to re-roll crits until they become a miss or a hit.

Certainly that's how I would rule it, but as wonderpug said it seems a bit OP. Maybe it's intended, maybe it's errata bait. I guess time will tell.

I assumed, like x-wing and nearly every dice-based game with these sorts of rules, that you cannot re-roll a re-roll.

Until a further erratum, infinite rerolls seems legal: RR page 7, modifying dice, reroll: "[...]A dice can be rerolled multiple times."

Page 5 of the Rules Reference, "Effect Use and Timing", specifically: A “while” effect can be resolved during the specified event and cannot occur again during that instance of the event .

The Point Defense Reroute card text reads: While attacking at close range, you may reroll your (crit) icons.

To summarize, based on the rules for while effects and considering that the Point Defense Card is a while effect, you can reroll only once.

Edit for spelling.

Edited by FreefallGeek

I think you're right, nice catch. Though one could argue, that the rerolls entry says, "a dice can be rerolled multiple times", thus it is one event roling the dice until one likes the result. I don't think the rules are meant to allow this, though. Were they, a "reroll" would probably be called a "pick result".

Edited by Jochmann

The dice can be re-rolled multiple times rule is there in case you have multiple effects that can force a re-roll.

The "while" limit of once per event solves this conundrum.

Thank you freefall, that looks like the right ruling.

I agree, freefall has nailed that one, thanks :)

Thanks for the Clarification.

This means that Point Defense Reroute allows the fictive Nebulon to reroll a blue crit while a nearby Torynn Far would let you reroll the same blue die an additional time and a concentrate fire token would allow for a third reroll of the same die. The effects are cumulative but may only be resolved ONCE per instance.

Best necro-spam in a while.

MTG-ThreadNecromancer_3198.jpg

Edited by Green Knight

Yup, this is a good one.

I didn't even realise it was a three year old thread ???

4 hours ago, Hawkwing said:

This means that Point Defense Reroute allows the fictive Nebulon to reroll a blue crit while a nearby Torynn Far would let you reroll the same blue die an additional time and a concentrate fire token would allow for a third reroll of the same die. The effects are cumulative but may only be resolved ONCE per instance.

Yea, basically

What I'm wondering is how many lists @Madaghmire ever made with PDR since May 12, 2015

One. It was called “I dont feel like Winning Again” and it did everything I wanted it to.

Another one before my time :D