Question not answered in FAQ.

By Doctor X, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Page 4, the Activation Phase description leaves something important open to debate:

1. Activation Phase: Play alternates back and forth, starting with the Rebel players activating one of their figures and resolving two actions, such as moving and attacking. Then the Imperial played activates all figures corresponding to one Deployment card.

So, does this mean that one Rebel goes, then all the Imperials, then all the other Rebels; one Rebel goes, then one card's worth of Imperials, then another Rebel; or each Rebel takes their turn, THEN it's the Imperial's turn?

It is one Rebel, then one card's worth of Imperial, then another Rebel, etc.

Ok, thanks. With the wording and the kind of people I usually play with, can see debates over this.

Basically it's saying 1 rebel card activates and does it's thing. Once that rebel card is done, then an imperial card activates and does it's thing. Then another rebel card, then another imperial card.

The reason I say card in both instances is that a card may represent multiple figures. The imperial storm trooper card, for instance, had a card and that that card represents 3 figures. So once the imperial player activates the storm trooper card, he does all the actions associated for each of the 3 figures. He will do 2 actions per figure on that card.

The reason I include saying the rebels card is because they can earn allies during a campaign. These allies may, like,the imperials, have multiple figures per card. Rebel troopers or rebel saboteurs would be an example of this.

Not clear on what is ambiguous. Breaking apart that rule:

"Activation Phase: Play alternates back and forth, starting with the Rebel players"

So we're going to alternate between rebels and imperials, Rebels go first. This implies that a round of activation will bounce back and forth between the rebels and imperials multiple times.

"starting with the Rebel players activating one of their figures and resolving two actions, such as moving and attacking."

Rebel side picks one figure to activate, does all of his actions for the round and then his turn is over. From the previous statement we know the Imperials are up next.

"Then the Imperial player activates all figures corresponding to one Deployment card."

The Imperial player activates all figures from one card. One Deployment card is a set of 3 storm troopers or a single Darth Vader for example. Once that's complete we look at the first statement of the rule which was alternating between rebels and imperials so the rebels must be up next.

Because it is a loop we continue this until we have exhausted all rebels and imperials for the round.

I suppose it's ambiguous about what to do if there are not equal numbers of Rebs and imps, so to clarify that, you skip over that the side that is out of units to activate and continue as described above.

If

I suppose it's ambiguous about what to do if there are not equal numbers of Rebs and imps, so to clarify that, you skip over that the side that is out of units to activate and continue as described above.

If the Rebels are Boss, it's possible that the IMperials run out of units, too.

:P