Some game questions

By JBar, in Star Wars: Armada

Some game questions I've come acros recently:

1. Can ships purpously ram other ships?

2. The Dodonna's Pride upgrade says that you "cancel all attack die..." with a Blue Critical hit. Sometimes I don't want to use that ability, such as if the enemy shields are already down. It doesn't say that I have the choice to choose the special effect or not. Can I? This goes with similar effects. Do I have to do what the card says or do I get the choice? The H9 Turbolasers says that you "may..."

3. Can repair tokens combine with repair commands to increase the total repair value or two separate repair actions? For example, a CR90 uses 2 engineering when the repair command is shown, and also has a repair token. Can that combine to a total of 3 points to discard a damage or can it only recover a shield with 2 repair and then transfer a shield with another repair?

4. When you exhaust the Wulff Yularen upgrade card, can you immediately use that token in the current phase? When do you have to reveal that you will exhaust him?

1. Yup! Fair game

2. Step 5 of Attack Resolution says "the attacker can resolve one critical effect." If you have a blue crit you can use Dodonna's Pride ability if you want, or you can not use it. Up to you.

3. You can only use the repair command once, but if you have both a token and a dial you can combine the engineering amounts from both. You're then free to spend those engineering points in whatever manner you choose amongst the different repair options.

4. You can only do each command once per ship activation, so if you use a command token, and Yularen replaces it, you cannot use the token again because you've already done that command for this activation.

1) Yes. It's a perfectly viable tactic to finish off a badly wounded ship. That being said, you have to manipulate your movement in such a way that you would end your move overlapping his ship. If you have a 4 move that would fly past them, then you can't ram him. But if you had a spare maneuver token that allowed you to slow down or accelerate so that your move ends on top of him, BAM!

2) The way game works is that if you get a critical hit on a dice roll, you get to *choose* one critical effect. Every ship automatically comes with a default one which is that the first damage card played on a ship taking hull damage is dealt face up. So if you rolled a blue critical, you can choose either the default one, or the Dodonna's Pride one. By the way, you can still choose the default effect even if all your hits strike at shields. It just means the crit effect wouldn't give a face up card.

3) No. You can only ever do one of each command per turn. So tokens combine with a dial to make one big repair. So if you have four engineering and use both dial and token, you'd have one Engineering done at 6 points. You can obviously split those 6 points into any number of repairs that total it. It's just that it's all done at the same time. Same applies to every other command. So a concentrate fire dial and token would allow one single attack with an extra dice and reroll. A maneuver dial and token would be one maneuver with two speed changes and an extra yaw. A Squadron dial and token would be a single activation with your squadron value+1.

4) See above. Each command can only be done once per turn.

Edited by infusco

Great and thanks for clarifying. I would like to agree with you on number 1, but the rules say that if a "ship's final movement would overlap another ship, it cannot finish its movement normally..."(pg17). Where would it suggest that you can chose to ram?

Great and thanks for clarifying. I would like to agree with you on number 1, but the rules say that if a "ship's final movement would overlap another ship, it cannot finish its movement normally..."(pg17). Where would it suggest that you can chose to ram?

The rest of that paragraph explains:

...Instead, its speed is temporarily reduced

by one and it attempts to move at this speed. This

process continues until the moving ship can finish a

movement or until its speed is temporarily reduced to

“0,” in which case it remains in its current position.

After moving, the moving ship and the closest

ship that it overlapped both receive one facedown

damage card

Great and thanks for clarifying. I would like to agree with you on number 1, but the rules say that if a "ship's final movement would overlap another ship, it cannot finish its movement normally..."(pg17). Where would it suggest that you can chose to ram?

Not quite getting your meaning, you choose to ram by making movements that would overlap another ship. Of course you can accidentally ram too. The rules only define the consequences "ramming" another ship (intentionally or otherwise), you both get a facedown card bypassing shields.

Great and thanks for clarifying. I would like to agree with you on number 1, but the rules say that if a "ship's final movement would overlap another ship, it cannot finish its movement normally..."(pg17). Where would it suggest that you can chose to ram?

Not quite getting your meaning, you choose to ram by making movements that would overlap another ship. Of course you can accidentally ram too. The rules only define the consequences "ramming" another ship (intentionally or otherwise), you both get a facedown card bypassing shields.

Exactly. It's not saying "you cannot have your final movement position overlap another ship", it's saying if your final position overlaps, you cannot resolve the movement the way you normally would. You can't just balance the ship you moved on top of the other one or push the other ship off the table. You have to finish the ship's movement in a different way, as described in the rules.

You finish the move in different ways .. but the rules also indicate there are consequences for such, namely that both ships take a damage card. So whether done on purpose, or by accident, it's speed gets reduced and both take a hull damage.

Now here's the kicker: Nothing indicates that you have to try to maneuver out of the way. It only says if you would overlap, you reduce your speed. It says nothing about yaw. So you *can* purposefully turn your ship and ram another ship if you so choose.