Ship/Squadron Movement question

By daloonieshaman, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

"A ship can move through ships, squadrons, and obstacles without issue." pg11 RRG

"If any portion of a ship’s or squadron’s base is outside the play area, that ship or squadron is destroyed. For this purpose, ignore activation sliders, shield dials, and the plastic portions of a ship’s base that frame shield dials." pg 9 RRG

IF a ship moves THROUGH outside the play area is it destroyed?

How can you pick up and place a ship on part of the Measurement Tool that "moves THROUGH obsticles, ships and squadraon withought an issue" but some players believe that a ship does not move through "out of the play area" without an issue (ak a being destroyed because part of the base is outside the play area).

please explain the difference.

If you pick up a ship and placed it at the new location (call it teleporting) why would the ship "move through ships, squadrons, and obstacles without issue." ?

if you "teleport" you would not move throught anything is that not correct?

How does a squadron become out of the play area?

The only 2 solutions I can see are:

1) you destroy your own ship by vouleentarily[sp] flying it off thus destroying it and giving up the points

2) being a (not so much fun opponent) and placing my squadron both touching my ship and off the play area when I fly into it.

are there any others?

"A ship can move through ships, squadrons, and obstacles without issue." pg11 RRG

"If any portion of a ship’s or squadron’s base is outside the play area, that ship or squadron is destroyed. For this purpose, ignore activation sliders, shield dials, and the plastic portions of a ship’s base that frame shield dials." pg 9 RRG

IF a ship moves THROUGH outside the play area is it destroyed?

How can you pick up and place a ship on part of the Measurement Tool that "moves THROUGH obsticles, ships and squadraon withought an issue" but some players believe that a ship does not move through "out of the play area" without an issue (ak a being destroyed because part of the base is outside the play area).

please explain the difference.

If you pick up a ship and placed it at the new location (call it teleporting) why would the ship "move through ships, squadrons, and obstacles without issue." ?

if you "teleport" you would not move throught anything is that not correct?

How does a squadron become out of the play area?

The only 2 solutions I can see are:

1) you destroy your own ship by vouleentarily[sp] flying it off thus destroying it and giving up the points

2) being a (not so much fun opponent) and placing my squadron both touching my ship and off the play area when I fly into it.

are there any others?

There are no instructions about how to move the ship along the tool.

The only references ever made for positions are starting and final positions.

Nowhere does it say that if you are able to position the tool in a way that it is outside the play area and starting and end positions are completely within the game area the ship should be destroyed.

As to your options for squadrons being destroyed: Yes, correct on both, although I would disagree about the "not so much fun" part as a legit criticism of punishing your opponent for flying his ships through his own squadrons so close to the edge.

It works like it does in X-Wing.

Ships don't actually move through anything, they effectively teleport from one place to another. in X-Wing the template matters, if your template overlaps an obstacle then the ship may suffer damage. But in Armada it doesn't even count the tool.

So the only thing that matters is where the ship starts at, and where it stops at, no intervening space counts for anything.

As above. Only thing that counts is it's starting and ending points. A ship can 'move' completely off the map as long it ends the move with it's base entirely within the bounderies.

As above. Only thing that counts is it's starting and ending points. A ship can 'move' completely off the map as long it ends the move with it's base entirely within the bounderies.

there is no basis for this in the rules

your theory is not proven and lacks substance

It works like it does in X-Wing.

Ships don't actually move through anything, they effectively teleport from one place to another. in X-Wing the template matters, if your template overlaps an obstacle then the ship may suffer damage. But in Armada it doesn't even count the tool.

So the only thing that matters is where the ship starts at, and where it stops at, no intervening space counts for anything.

I laugh with you

there is NO reference to x-wing and no rule that states it works like x-wing so you have no evidence to back your theory so it is mute and void.

There are no instructions about how to move the ship along the tool.

The only references ever made for positions are starting and final positions.

not quite true

as quoted ships move THROUGH things though not with complete instructions

The rules do state how to USE the tool,

lay the tool down, notch it to the base, pick up the ship, notch the ship at the distance (say 2) and notch it there. (with some stuff about overlapping the base)

So if I use the tool as per instructions ... whilst moving the ship there are other ships, squadrons, obstacles the ship moves THROUGH them without issue

once I notch the ship in the sought position there are rules for things being in the way such as ships, squadrons, and obstacles and that you have issues to be dealt with. (and how to deal with them in their own section)

The Play Area rules are rather straight forward

"If any portion of a ship’s or squadron’s base is outside the play area, that ship or squadron is destroyed. For this purpose, ignore activation sliders, shield dials, and the plastic portions of a ship’s base that frame shield dials ." pg 9 RRG

which is very simple direct and to the point that whilst moving you exit the play area you have issues and are simply destroyed

To theorize otherwise would ignore the other rules on movement.

IN NO SECTION OF ANY ARMADA RULES/TOURNAMENT LITERATURE THAT I AM AWARE OF DOES IT REFERENCE THE RULES TO X-WING.

Not to say that FFG will not FAQ with a copy and paste from the X_wing faq

YES the games are both miniature fighting games set in the Star Wars universe

YES you roll dice

BUT

The game mechanic for both games is VASTLY different in many ways

Moving

​Attacks (especially when to attack)

Dice rolling

Game Aids (such as MOVEMENT TOOLS)

Level of Stratagem

so do not automatically assume that (whilst they may) FFG will rule this the same way as X-wing

RAW currently states that your ship is destroyed

I'm actually going to play Devil's Advocate here and (sorta) agree with Daloonieshaman. I see the point he's trying to get across, and an official answer should be part of the inevitable FAQ that comes out.

To shorten the point being made: "Does a ship count as moving along the Movement Tool, or is only the starting and end points considered for leaving the play area?"

Now, while I can, absolutely see the point being made by saying a ship "Can pass through ships, squads blah blah blah" I believe that is written with the intent of explaining how the Ships Overlapping rules would only take place if the ship has to stop in such a way as to overlap. It's a small oversight in the writing that does lead to the logical question of "When do I check for being out of the play area?"

So yeah, I'd like clarification and I won't dismiss the possibility that Daloonieshaman is 100% right. I know what answer I expect, but the question in and of itself is a fair one.

I see both sides. I would however lean towards the idea that the ship exists at point A and point B for the purposes of determining whether the base is outside the play area. I would base that on the fact that a ship can move through and ignore obstacles, ships, and squadrons. To say a ship could not move through the outside of the play area to the same effect would be non sequitur.

However, this looks like one of those occasions where I cannot say 100% that's how it's intended.

Maybe 95% though :P

What are you here for OP?

You ask a question then mock the answers you get...

VanorDM is correct as per the rules that are written. (as he usually is)

Personally I don't have a problem with the maneuver occurring off-map as long as the start and end points are in bounds, but if I were to rulesmonger this one...

hizHg0d.png

If the maneuver tool is being placed so that some of it is outside the play area, I could definitely see that counting as not placing the tool "on the play area".

We've already exhausted all of the possible arguments to be made about this subject, the creators are undoubtedly aware of it, most of the players are undoubtedly aware of it (and likely dont care), so why do we need to post another topic? So that WE can emphasize things as condescendingly

as possible?

y E p

I sent an email to their rules support team about this question. If ever I get a reply, I'll let you guys know.

The rules give you no ability to check ship placement at any distance except the one corresponding to thier speed. Without the rules telling you to place your ship at those earlier "speed points" there is no ability to say the ship's base has left the play area.

so you have no evidence to back your theory so it is mute and void.

I have the rules, that's all the evidence I need. I only referenced X-Wing because the rules work the same way. The fact that you don't understand what I said makes me question if you'll understand the rest but...

Here's what the rules say.

2 . Move Ship: Place the maneuver tool on the play area and insert the guides of the first segment into the notches on one side of the front of the ship’s base. Then slide the ship away from the guides on the first segment and place the ship by sliding its notches over the guides on the joint that corresponds to the ship’s speed.

• A ship can move through ships, squadrons, and obstacles without issue.

Note the complete lack of mention of keeping track of what happens between the start and end point. Effectively that space doesn't matter. This is true in both X-Wing and Armada, however in X-Wing the template itself matters, in Armada it doesn't.

If any portion of a ship’s or squadron’s base is outside the play area, that ship or squadron is destroyed.

Since only the starting and final location of the ship matters, you can't ever go out of the play area in the process of moving. Because you don't track each segment of the maneuver tool.

As happens with many rules questions, the folley is the difference between rules and laws. A law is a way to restrict things that are inherently doable. A rule is a framework that gives you the only way to do something.

Read things as rules. If you dont see a rule that allows or specifies it, it doesnt exist. There is no rule requiring a ship to check anything but start and end Point. A vague explanatory sentence about moving through things does not trigger a change in a rule. It doesnt tell you to do anything and it doesnt tell yuo how to do anything. It is just a sparebit of thought, most likely put in to reinforce the concept that is spelled out directly in the rules about transitory positioning not existing in the game.

Ah, this old chestnut!

The rules are actually quite clear about this. Only start and end positions matter, you do not trace the move through the tool. So a ship is only destroyed if its end position is outside the play area.

I'm not sure why some people apply X-Wing rules to this game. NEWS FLASH, this is Armada, NOT X-Wing - they are two totally different games each with their own rules set.

This has been officially answered on the FAQ:

Q: When a ship executes a maneuver, does it move along the maneuver tool?

A: No. The ship is picked up from its starting position and placed in its final position. It ignores any obstacles, ships, and squadrons that its base does not overlap in its final position.

Q: When a ship executes a maneuver, is it destroyed if part of the maneuver tool is outside the play area but the ship itself is entirely inside the play area?

A: No.

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/7d/99/7d997d2d-ba95-4164-aaec-5f085521e615/armada_faq_v10.pdf