Killer Android and Kazuya. Need official ruling.

By ShippuJinrai, in UFS Rules Q & A

would love an official ruling on whether this turns off kaz's form. thanks

It seems pretty simple, after your opponent plays an ability that destroys an asset, cancel the effects. So as long as you have an asset in play (to be destroyed), then you can respond. However be aware that you will then have to destroy one of your assets.

babelfish666 said:

It seems pretty simple, after your opponent plays an ability that destroys an asset, cancel the effects. So as long as you have an asset in play (to be destroyed), then you can respond. However be aware that you will then have to destroy one of your assets.



Can Red Lotus respond to Amy's Assistance?

The answer to the original question is best answered by the highly technical phrase "pew pew".

Yeah, Android stops that BS, because Kazuya destroys all non-characters in the opposing staging area. Pretty sure assets are non-character cards. But I could be wrong.

assets are indeed non character cards (obviously :P ), but it seems to me that if his ability is not going to actually destroy an asset, then he has not played an ability that does, so killer android cannot respond. Just because it can destroy an asset, doesnt mean it will (if there isnt one in play).

babelfish666 said:

assets are indeed non character cards (obviously :P ), but it seems to me that if his ability is not going to actually destroy an asset, then he has not played an ability that does, so killer android cannot respond. Just because it can destroy an asset, doesnt mean it will (if there isnt one in play).

We've been going over this since Set 1. >_>;

You can Torn Hero respond to Amy's Assistance even if you have no assets in play. etc etc etc.

That's exactly what I said, but with Torn Hero instead of Red Lotus, and with a facial expression.

Copycat.

Everything you guys are saying makes sense and the interaction makes sense to me. I just wanted an OFFICIAL stamp on it because i dont want to be getting last second rulings at the first pro tour stops that make my sideboard unusable.

I'm worried about "and" in Killer Android. Cancel and destroy an asset, so you must have an asset to play the ability. if it was may, then yeh, works great, but sadly thats not the case.

I think Tag's comment could be considered official, even though it doesn't have the lovable caps-locked word STAMP on it.

I can see where it would be somewhat confusing, especially considering Journey of Repentance. However, Journey triggers immediately before the destruction (so if something could destroy a foundation or asset, if it's targetting the asset it would not work). It doesn't trigger, like Killer Android (and Red Lotus before it) when an ability is played that COULD destroy an asset.

If Torn Hero is capable of substituting a possible committal of an asset without an asset out, then Killer Android can negate a possible destruction effect of an asset without an asset out... and, well, destroy an asset in return.

It makes a good bit of sense. So yes, feel free to pack some Killer Androids (or something to stop them, like... themselves lol) in your sideboard.

As for Ninjazamus' question, the "and" would only become an issue when the first part of the "and" cannot be fulfilled. If something prevents the negation of a card's ability (not sure if there's something like that at the moment, but it's an example), then even when the opponent plays an abiility that could destroy an asset, and they have an asset out, when you use Killer Android, since you can't negate it, you can't destroy their asset. It's only an issue when the whole part before "and" can't be done; they don't have to be done in unison, but in order instead.

Ninjazanus said:

I'm worried about "and" in Killer Android. Cancel and destroy an asset, so you must have an asset to play the ability. if it was may, then yeh, works great, but sadly thats not the case.

Everything guitalex2008 said, with one clarification: You do not need an asset to "play" the ability, all you need to do is pay the cost at the time the response is triggered. Whether or not it fully resolves is what you are referring to. I know that's symantics, but just thought I'd clear that up as you can play any ability given the appropriate trigger and given that you "follow all restrictions and pay all costs". For example you could play Black Giant on your opponent's attack. It wouldn't increase the damage, but you can commit Black Giant during the enhance step.

And it's not like you can't cancel Kazuya without there being ANY assets in play, either.

Just got off the phone with James Hata. Killer Android does stop Kazuya's form ability.

Thanks James for the answer.

Later guys.