orb of knowledge/ prophetess + gladiator

By player1577886, in Talisman

Hi everyone!

We experience difficulties with some cards...

QUESTION 1: A character with the orb of knowledge is instructed to draw an adventure card, will he:

a/ draw two cards, choose one and put the card he doesn't wish to encounter on the discard pile

0r b/ draw two cards, an put the card he doesn't wish to encounter back on the adventure-card pile ?

QUESTION 2: is it the same with the prophetess and her ability?

QUESTION 3: the gladiator has the ability tro train his followers so that they can contribute with +1 Strength in battle, but what if the follower grants the character with +1 additional strength? will it count double?

for example, the gladiator have no followers, and Str 5. he draws a follower who gives him +1 Str, he now has Str6. next turn he must fight a dragon. has the gladiator strengt 6 or 7?

what if he meets a follower with +1 str and +1 craft. what happens when he has to battle??

black knight said:

Hi everyone!

We experience difficulties with some cards...

QUESTION 1: A character with the orb of knowledge is instructed to draw an adventure card, will he:

a/ draw two cards, choose one and put the card he doesn't wish to encounter on the discard pile

0r b/ draw two cards, an put the card he doesn't wish to encounter back on the adventure-card pile ?

Both your interpretations are incorrect, sorry happy.gif . Something has changed from 2nd Edition and Black Industries 4th edition. Let's have a look at text:

Whenever you have to draw Adventure cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw one more card to replace it, which you must encounter.

The card you do not wish to encounter is discarded, so it doesn't go back to the Adventure deck for others to draw. Moreover, you don't draw two cards and choose which one to discard. On "Draw 1 card" Spaces you draw the card, look at it and choose whether to encounter or to discard it. You must encounter the card you draw as replacement.

On Draw 2 cards (or 3 cards) Spaces you draw that many cards and choose which one you don't want to encounter and replace with another from the deck. The ability is more powerful if you are instructed to draw more than 1 card

black knight said:

QUESTION 2: is it the same with the prophetess and her ability?

Yes, the text on the Character Card and Orb of Knowledge is exactly the same. For this reason, there's a (un)official FAQ that forbids to stack Orb of Knowledge and Prophetess ability, because you can't cumulate effects that have the same wording.

black knight said:

QUESTION 3: the gladiator has the ability tro train his followers so that they can contribute with +1 Strength in battle, but what if the follower grants the character with +1 additional strength? will it count double?

Each Follower grants the Gladiator a +1 bonus in battle. Followers that already give +1 (or more) in battle still give an additional +1 because of the Gladiator ability. The same happens for Followers that give bonus to Strength (Unicorn).

but I play the black industries (am I the only one? preocupado.gif )

how should we interprate the rules? discard pile? top of adventure deck?

black knight said:

but I play the black industries (am I the only one? preocupado.gif )

how should we interprate the rules? discard pile? top of adventure deck?

From the BI FAQ:

"Q: ‘While the Orb of Knowledge is in your possession, it allows you to draw 1 more Adventure Card
than required. You may then discard the one you do not wish to encounter, but you must encounter the
other’. This seems outrageously powerful, like the Prophetesses Special Ability. Is this correct?

A: No, this is incorrect. The Card should read as follows: ‘Whenever you have to draw Adventure
Cards, you may discard one Card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw one more
Card to replace it, which you must encounter’." (p. 8)

black knight said:

but I play the black industries (am I the only one? preocupado.gif )

how should we interprate the rules? discard pile? top of adventure deck?

Oops, well,you were talking about the Gladiator which is from FFG Dungeon expansion, so I assumed that you were playing Revised 4th edition.

I also play the BI edition sometimes, it's more portable than the FFG one. But for BI edition there's already a FAQ clarifying how to tule the Prophetess/Orb of Knowledge. It's the one Dam has just quoted.