Black Arrow and the Victory Display

By 13edl@m, in Rules questions & answers

My understanding is that when the black arrow is put in the victory display it maintains it's both it's uniqueness and in play status. Which prevents another copy from being put into play. But as the responses I found never directly addressed the issue I thought it would be worthwhile to ask. The Gather Information sidequest now makes it much more likely that multiple copies in seperate decks may show up in a game. So am I right to think that it's truly a one of card through and through?

Hey there,

In page 24 of the rulebook, it briefly talks about the status of victory display cards. At the time of the core set, there were no player cards with victory points, but all cards with victory points are the same when they go to the victory display. So I don't think that matters at all. Anyway here is what is reads:

"Some enemy and location cards award victory points when they are defeated. When such a card leaves play , one player should place it near his threat dial to remind the players of the victory points when they are scoring at the end of the game"

So I think it is pretty clear that a victory point card leaves play when dealt with or used in your situation. So after black arrow is placed in the victory display, it's out of play and you may play another copy of black arrow.

Hope this helps!

Khamul

Edited by Khamul The Easterling

I would think no more Arrows can come into the game. But I have never seen anything concrete. So we're just connecting dots I guess, unless someone has precedent?

edited 'cuz I just saw Khamul's answer above. It's a good point! If not in play, I guess you should be able to use another one.

Edited by GrandSpleen

Gather information is not unique though it is simply one per deck so it doesn't really matter if a copy is already in the victory display or even really if a copy is already in play/staging, so long as only one copy is in any one deck you can have as many copies as you desire in play at once

Edited by PsychoRocka

Gather information is not unique though it is simply one per deck so it doesn't really matter if a copy is already in the victory display or even really if a copy is already in play/staging, so long as only one copy is in any one deck you can have as many copies as you desire in play at once.

That's not his point, his point is that with Gather Information we're more likely to see multiple copies of the Black Arrow (from multiple decks), which is unique as well as limit one per deck, since the sidequest can be used to dig it out more consistently.

Black arrow go to victory display to preven you get in back and play again from discard pile.