Basic Questions

By Cajun Grognard, in Talisman

I have some basic questions about the game:

1. When a character draws an Adventure Card and it instructs the player to put down a number of markers (mostly 4 and usually strength, craft, life, etc.), does the character who drew the card take one of the markers right then and there or do the 4 sit there until someone visits them?

2. If an Adventure Card teleports a character to another space, does the character immediately encounter that space (pick a card, roll dice, etc.) or does he use it just as a "landing space"?

3. If a character draws an Adventure Card for an item he can't use (monks can't use weapons/armor), does he need the Alchemist to turn it into gold or can he sell it? Otherwise, he just discards it?

Mykul

1. Take one now!

2. Encounter new space (unless you were defeated and then moved).

3. Ditch it on your space (not discard).

3. You can't even carry an item you can't use, so no Alchemist.

3. You can't even carry an item you can't use, so no Alchemist.

That isn't true. You just cannot take items prohibited by alignment. The Monk can carry armour & weapons that are used in battle but he cannot use them himself.

1. Think of the pool as already being in the area and you discovered it. I think that makes the interpretation easier. Take one unless you drew more cards that, for some reason, prevented you from encountering it.

As for question 3. I think Axe is the easiest example to use when it comes to the monk. You can carry it and use it to build a raft but not as a weapon.

I think the rulebook mentions somewhere the difference between "have" and "use." If you can't "have" something, it means you have to ditch it on your space. If you can't "use" something, you can have it, but can't use it.

Yeah I was thinking alignment. I forgot about non alignment prohibitions, but really there aren't too many of those. I am always thinking about that Runesword for example.

Edited by DomaGB