Wand (magic Object) refill.

By lowtech, in Talisman Rules Questions

My wife, Craft 4, had one spell and the Wand "You may have at least 1 spell if your craft allows (gain a spell each time you cast your last spell). Magical vortex removed her spell (she didn't cast it). Does she get to draw another spell?

Thanks.

GregC said:

My wife, Craft 4, had one spell and the Wand "You may have at least 1 spell if your craft allows (gain a spell each time you cast your last spell). Magical vortex removed her spell (she didn't cast it). Does she get to draw another spell?

Thanks.

Interesting question. I never noticed that nuance in the Wand card. Perhaps I'm getting used to some old game mechanics and miss changes in the text-

However, the words between the parentheses are a clarification of the first statement and don't prescribe a particular fulfillment to gain a new Speel; you always have at least one Spell, whether or not you cast or lose your last Spell. If you have no Spells but have sufficient Craft and acquire the Wand, you immediately draw one Spell.

Please remember the rule in the book that you may not cast more Spells than the Spells you had at the start of your turn. If you have a Spell, cast it and gain another Spell thanks to the Wand, you're unable to cast it in the same Turn (you may use it in another player's turn if able).

My gaming group have always gone along with the idea that the wand ensures that you always have a spell, even if your last spell is lost, as opposed to being 'cast'. I guess that the proper way to follow the card would be that the wand only lets you replenish your last spell, if you actually 'cast' it, and according to the rules on page 13 "A Spell can only be cast as stated on the Spell card".

So, that if you lost your last spell to Magical Vortex or Nullify, you would need to wait until you gained a new spell through some other means, then when you cast that spell normally, the wand will let you draw another spell card. That seems to be how it is supposed to work by the wording of the card. I just don't think that that is the intent however.

I agree with both of you. The character should always have a spell.

Thanks.

The Wizard character works the same in that way.. lengua.gif

You can also separate the words..( so that you can always have 1 spell AND that you can take a new spell after your last spell has been cast.

If you could not do that, then the wand will be more useless than it is..( that would mean that you must first find a spell to let the wand work..