Dark Obsession special rules questions

By MarcG, in Imperial Assault Campaign

1) The mission states that "A Rebel figure may interact with the terminal to close the open door closest to the sabotage site." and "Once a door is opened during the mission, it can not be closed again." Does this mean if the Rebels close doors 1 and 2, but then the Imperials force open door 2, that then the Rebels can no longer close door 3?

2) The mission states that "If Darth Vader is targetted by an attack, and there is an adjacent trooper that is a legal target for that attack, that figure may become the target of the attack." If Mak declares an attack targetting Vader at range 4, but there's an adjacent trooper at range 3, does the attack redirect happen before or after Mak decides to spend for Ambush? And if the redirect happens afterwards, would Mak still get the Pierce 2 on the attack on the trooper?

1) Mission rules state "Once per activation, a hero can interact with the terminal to close the open door closest to the sabotage site. " So the heroes may only close door 3 - the door right next to the Rebel mission token. That is the only door they can close in the mission.

2) "Golden Rules" pg 2 RRG

" Mission rules can override both card abilities and rules from this guide. "

When Mak first declares an attack on Vader, the Imperial player would get the opportunity to change the target if there was an adjacent trooper. The Imperial player specifies this before Mak could use his Ambush ability.

My apologies, I misnumbered the doors in my question. So then if the Rebels close door 3, and then close door 2, since door 2 is now the "closest open door", but then the Imperials force open door 2, can the Rebels then close door 1, or are they done?

Thanks for the second answer, looks solid!

My apologies, I misnumbered the doors in my question. So then if the Rebels close door 3, and then close door 2, since door 2 is now the "closest open door", but then the Imperials force open door 2, can the Rebels then close door 1, or are they done?

Thanks for the second answer, looks solid!

Good question. I would rule they would be done, because the next closest door would be Door 2, and the rules say they cannot be closed again.

The way I was reading the mission just last night, I'd number the door from left to right on the map, 3-2-1. Mainly because the 1st door that is closed is the one right next to the the Rebel token room. Door 2 is the door at the right end of the hall with the terminal and door 3 at the left end of the hall.

After door 1, going by the above, is closed, the next closest open door to the Rebel token becomes door 2. When that is closed, door 3 becomes the closest open door. Each door can only be closed once. So if door 2 is closed and opened before door 3, door 3 can still be closed by a hero at the terminal then opened by Vader's special qction or by Imperials breaking it down(5hp with 1block).

As far as I can tell, this mission is basically a mission where you sacrifice your heroes by trapping them in the terminal hall or on the left side of door 3 in an effort to stop Vader from getting through. Remember, Vader can only interact with the Rebel token AFTER all heroes are wounded and can interact with the token. Wounding all 4 heroes while getting through the doors in 6 turns...