Mishima Zaibatsu Leader confusion

By Habeckman, in UFS Rules Q & A

E Commit: Your opponent discards one of thier momentum. Then you add the top card of your deck to your momentum.

I was just wondering do to the "then clause" I assume that you may only get the momentum if your opponent has discarded a momentum asking just for clarifaction. Thank You.

Habeckman said:

E Commit: Your opponent discards one of thier momentum. Then you add the top card of your deck to your momentum.

I was just wondering do to the "then clause" I assume that you may only get the momentum if your opponent has discarded a momentum asking just for clarifaction. Thank You.

That is correct the only way you can get momentum through this card is if your opponent discards one

Yeah this card for me was "ZOMGAWESOME" to "oh...my opponent just never puts anything in his momentum now..."

although good against decks that need momentum (and aren't Zi Mei FotA) it can give some control, but if you play/check them then usually your opponent just doesn't put stuff in momentum, at least that has been my experience.

Does the full stop after "your opponent discards one of their momentum." not mean they are two seperate things? do as much as possible i thought?

you will still get to do as much as possible but i believe the original question was will you still get momentum if your opponent doesnt discard one

its discard your opponents momentum, and THEN get momentum.

So if your opponent has no momentum...either do you.

A smart player sitting against a zaibatsu will not get momentum unless they will be able to use it before you.

From the Advanced Rules:

2.13.3 If effects are connected together by the wording “and then”, “then”, or sentences starting
with the wording “Then,” these effects are linked to the effect before them. If the first
effect cannot be completed in its entirety, then the linked effect will not happen.

Done and done.

-Tinman

Thank you all for the help and clarifaction.