Card questions

By RedSimon2, in Talisman Rules Questions

Ok, now that I finally have Talisman plus Reaper I have some questions about several cards.

1.) Object: Many cards (and other rules) mention objects, be it adventure or spell or other cards. Do they refer also to magic objects or just to ordinary "object" objects? I assume the former, otherwise there would not be much interaction with magic objects.

2.) Spell card "Reflection": Does it prevent harm against all targets when used against command spell or any spell that affects multiple targets?

3.) Spell card "Fireball": Do you get a trophy when you kill an enemy with the fireball?

4.) Spell card "Barrier": Is barrier removed when effect is over?

5.) Purchase card "Raft": Can the Thief steal the raft?

6.) Adventure card (Follower) "Cursed by a Hag": Go the followers driven off by the Hag to the discard pile or are they dropped on the space where the character encountered the Hag?

7.) Adventure card (Event) "Astral Conjunction": May players look into the spell cards deck to choose a card?

redsimon said:

Ok, now that I finally have Talisman plus Reaper I have some questions about several cards.

1.) Object: Many cards (and other rules) mention objects, be it adventure or spell or other cards. Do they refer also to magic objects or just to ordinary "object" objects? I assume the former, otherwise there would not be much interaction with magic objects.

answer 1: Both objects and magic objects are classed as objects( page 12)

redsimon said:

2.) Spell card "Reflection": Does it prevent harm against all targets when used against command spell or any spell that affects multiple targets?

answer 2: you can use the reflection spell against a spell that has been cast on you. that's it..( not sure about the COC..( then i must take a look at the card pff lengua.gif

redsimon said:

3.) Spell card "Fireball": Do you get a trophy when you kill an enemy with the fireball?

Answer 3: If enemies are killed, you don't get a trophy for it unless it is stated on the spell card..

redsimon said:

4.) Spell card "Barrier": Is barrier removed when effect is over?

Answer 4: YES

redsimon said:

5.) Purchase card "Raft": Can the Thief steal the raft?

Answer 5: Off course, why not..( but remember that the Raft must be used on your next turn..

redsimon said:

6.) Adventure card (Follower) "Cursed by a Hag": Go the followers driven off by the Hag to the discard pile or are they dropped on the space where the character encountered the Hag?

Answer 6: If you draw the Hag, your followers are going to the discard pile..

redsimon said:

7.) Adventure card (Event) "Astral Conjunction": May players look into the spell cards deck to choose a card?

answer 7: No, from my memory, you must draw a card from the top of the deck..

Only Demigod grants you that choice..

Velhart said:

redsimon said:

2.) Spell card "Reflection": Does it prevent harm against all targets when used against command spell or any spell that affects multiple targets?

answer 2: you can use the reflection spell against a spell that has been cast on you. that's it..( not sure about the COC..( then i must take a look at the card pff lengua.gif

The card specifically mentions the Command Spell, so I definitely have a reason for my question. happy.gif It also says the dsignated target is saved. But as the spell of command and other spells may afffect several targets, the question is if all of them count as designated targets and are saved by "Reflection".

Velhart said:

redsimon said:

3.) Spell card "Fireball": Do you get a trophy when you kill an enemy with the fireball?

Answer 3: If enemies are killed, you don't get a trophy for it unless it is stated on the spell card..

Hmm, are you sure about this? It doesn't sound reasonable to me, as the spell is used only when you initiate a battle (as you can only use it before battle). Also that could mean that all kills outside of battle/psychic combat do not allow trophies, which I highly doubt.

redsimon said:

3.) Spell card "Fireball": Do you get a trophy when you kill an enemy with the fireball?

Answer 3: If enemies are killed, you don't get a trophy for it unless it is stated on the spell card..

Hmm, are you sure about this? It doesn't sound reasonable to me, as the spell is used only when you initiate a battle (as you can only use it before battle). Also that could mean that all kills outside of battle/psychic combat do not allow trophies, which I highly doubt.

Yes i am sure.

Take a look at the summon spells and you know it soon enough.

With summon spells, you also kill the enemies, BUT below the card is mentioned that you still get a trophy for it.

The fireball spells does not mention it.

I hope this has answer your question.

There is also the Wand of Dragonfire Treasure card, which is basically a permanent Fireball (it does the same thing), which mentions no trophy. Probably didn't manage to squeeze in the no trophy text to the Fireball card. Of the kill spells, Finger of Death states you get the trophy. Of course, I prefer FoD as a PvP spell demonio.gif .

Ok, and what can you say about my question on "Reflection"?

I am in opposition to the conclusion that the Fireball spell does not grant a trophy, for the following reason:

1) The rules (p. 14 of the rulebook (this is the revised 4th ed)) states: "When a character kills an Enemy, he may take it as a trophy."

2) The Fireball spell card specifies "If the total is higher than an opposing creature's Strength, it is killed ."

Since the spellcard does not indicate that creatures killed this way cannot be taken as trophies, I don't see why you would not. The fact that other cards do specify things like "Enemies killed this way can still be taken as trophies", does not mean that any other ability/spell does not allow the taking of trophies. Especially since as I just outlined, the Fireball spell is following the exact rules (i.e. succeed at the Fireball die roll = enemy killed = take as trophy).

As for the Reflection spell, since the rules on Page 20 state that the Command spell is cast on "all" other characters and the spell is being reflected back at the caster, I would have to conclude that the Reflection spell saves "all" other characters and only the person on the CoC gets the effect. If the Command spell was resolved individually (as in you roll for each other character), only then would I conclude that the Reflection only saves the caster.

Gelmaron said:

I am in opposition to the conclusion that the Fireball spell does not grant a trophy, for the following reason:

1) The rules (p. 14 of the rulebook (this is the revised 4th ed)) states: "When a character kills an Enemy, he may take it as a trophy."

2) The Fireball spell card specifies "If the total is higher than an opposing creature's Strength, it is killed ."

Since the spellcard does not indicate that creatures killed this way cannot be taken as trophies, I don't see why you would not. The fact that other cards do specify things like "Enemies killed this way can still be taken as trophies", does not mean that any other ability/spell does not allow the taking of trophies. Especially since as I just outlined, the Fireball spell is following the exact rules (i.e. succeed at the Fireball die roll = enemy killed = take as trophy).

I agree with Gelmaron's thoughts. Fireball doesn't say that killed Enemies can't be taken as Trophies, such as the Wand of Dragon Fire Treasure Card does. Rules state that killed Enemies are taken as Trophies. Please notice that there's a special paragraph about Trophies, which is not part of the Combat section; I believe this means that Trophies are not always taken as a result of Battle/Psychic Combat, but are gained if you kill the Enemy in some other way.

I won't compare Wand of Dragonfire and Fireball, even if the wording is very close. The reason why the Wand negates Trophies is to restrain its incredible power. It's intended to give an edge to Craft Characters against Strength Characters in the final confrontation.

One more curious question for you, which I can't sort by myself.

Q: Can a Character use the Resurrection Spell to prevent the death of an Enemy killed by a Fireball?

You have to check the texts to understand the problem.

Fireball

Cast when you're about to engage in battle. Roll 1 die and add your Craft. If the result is higher than an opposing creature's Strength, it is killed. If the total is higher than an opposing character's Strength, he must lose 1 Life. Otherwise the Fireball has no effect.

Resurrection

Cast after a character kills an Enemy during an attack. The attack is considered a stand-off and the Enemy remains on the space.

And what about the Preservation Spell? I'm sure you can use it but what happens in this situation?

Gelmaron said:

As for the Reflection spell, since the rules on Page 20 state that the Command spell is cast on "all" other characters and the spell is being reflected back at the caster, I would have to conclude that the Reflection spell saves "all" other characters and only the person on the CoC gets the effect. If the Command spell was resolved individually (as in you roll for each other character), only then would I conclude that the Reflection only saves the caster.

I'm never too lazy to check, so I checked. Reflection does mention the Command Spell in the text, so no doubt about its applicability. The problem is that the Command Spell has multiple targets, there's not only caster and target as usual. Let's have a look at the full text:

Cast as required. Any Spell that has just been cast, including the Command Spell, is turned back onto the character who cast it. (The chosen target is unaffected by the Spell; the caster suffers its effects instead).

That "chosen" word makes things interesting, and confused. You don't choose anything when casting the Command Spell, because every other character is affected. Let's take out that single word, because it's unapplicable to Command Spell (though Reflection clearly is), and we have the answer.

Cast as required. Any Spell that has just been cast, including the Command Spell, is turned back onto the character who cast it. (The target is unaffected by the Spell; the caster suffers its effects instead).

All characters are the target and the caster is affected instead. This is how it works in my opinion.

The_Warlock said:

One more curious question for you, which I can't sort by myself.

Q: Can a Character use the Resurrection Spell to prevent the death of an Enemy killed by a Fireball?

You have to check the texts to understand the problem.

Fireball

Cast when you're about to engage in battle. Roll 1 die and add your Craft. If the result is higher than an opposing creature's Strength, it is killed. If the total is higher than an opposing character's Strength, he must lose 1 Life. Otherwise the Fireball has no effect.

Resurrection

Cast after a character kills an Enemy during an attack. The attack is considered a stand-off and the Enemy remains on the space.

And what about the Preservation Spell? I'm sure you can use it but what happens in this situation?

I'd say Resurrection works. Attack leads to one of two things, battle or psychic. Each have their sequence, so even if you Fireball something, it still falls under the attack sequence. Whether "before battle" is before the Evade step or during Step 2 (Cast Spells) can be debated. Where does battle start?

Dam said:

I'd say Resurrection works. Attack leads to one of two things, battle or psychic. Each have their sequence, so even if you Fireball something, it still falls under the attack sequence. Whether "before battle" is before the Evade step or during Step 2 (Cast Spells) can be debated. Where does battle start?

My doubt arose because of this timing issue. Fireball takes place "when you're about to engage in battle". If you kill the Enemy there's no battle at all, so no "attack". But let's say that this is bull and you can use Resurrection. What happens? Is the attack considered a stand-off? This is obviously not correct, because no die roll has occurred. In some cases a stand-off might be better than forcing the Fireball caster to face the Enemy he believed to roast with magic.

For me there's no attack if you use Fireball and the best way to proceed is to compare Resurrection with Preservation Spell.

Preservation

Cast as required, on any character, Follower, or Enemy. It prevents a character from losing a life or a Follower from being killed. When cast on an Enemy, it prevents it from being killed, and the attack is considered a stand-off.

There's no doubt you can cast this Spell after a Fireball. The Enemy isn't killed (this wording is much better) "and the attack is considered a stand-off". But there's no attack for now. Does Preservation extend to the very next battle and make it an automatic stand.off?

The rules are not clear about the "attack" keyword. I know tha Characters attack other Characters but are attacked by Enemy Cards and creatures on the board. So the end conclusion might be that a Preservation/Resurrection cast after a Fireball results in a stand-off because it acts on the Enemy's attack.

I'm not very satisfied with this. preocupado.gif

The_Warlock said:

My doubt arose because of this timing issue. Fireball takes place "when you're about to engage in battle". If you kill the Enemy there's no battle at all, so no "attack".

Well, timing is tricky. Step 1 under Battle:

"1. Evade
The character first declares whether he is evading or not
(see “Evading” on page 14). If not, then a battle takes
place." (p. 10)

If you Evade, no battle. Okay, so we need to proceed to Step 2 before one is engaged in battle or does that only start with Step 3 (which is kinda where I'd put battle).

The_Warlock said:

But let's say that this is bull and you can use Resurrection. What happens? Is the attack considered a stand-off? This is obviously not correct, because no die roll has occurred. In some cases a stand-off might be better than forcing the Fireball caster to face the Enemy he believed to roast with magic.

I do think you can get a stand-off from a non-rolling combat result as well, just that the standard is comparing attack rolls. I'd say any combat that doesn't result in a life loss or kill for either side counts as a stand-off for game purposes. Just IMO.

The_Warlock said:

There's no doubt you can cast this Spell after a Fireball. The Enemy isn't killed (this wording is much better) "and the attack is considered a stand-off". But there's no attack for now. Does Preservation extend to the very next battle and make it an automatic stand.off?

The rules are not clear about the "attack" keyword. I know tha Characters attack other Characters but are attacked by Enemy Cards and creatures on the board. So the end conclusion might be that a Preservation/Resurrection cast after a Fireball results in a stand-off because it acts on the Enemy's attack.

I'm not very satisfied with this. preocupado.gif

I look at it like Encounter with a Creature that has Str/Craft = Attack -> Battle or Psychic.