Using Surge Focus on a Focused Attack

By JLeisten, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Imperial Officer makes an attack and is Focused.

He spends a surge on that attack to Focus.

What is the timing? Because he'll either gain Focused for the attack, or he won't gain Focused because he still has the first Focused condition.

When officer spends a surge on Focus, he gets the focus condition which states the NEXT attack, he gains a green dice.

Yes. I should've been clearer.

The Imperial Officer already has the Focused condition.
He makes an attack (with the Focused condition).
For that attack, he uses a surge to Focus.

My timing issue is, he can't gain another Focused condition if the first Focused condition is still on him. So, at most, he can only gain the Focused condition every other activation (using his own ability). Correct?

The focus condition goes away as soon as you make the next attack. So when it's time to spend surges he is no longer considered focused.

Focused says, "After you resolve an attack or attribute test, you must discard this card."

Doesn't that mean it doesn't go away until completing ALL steps of the attack?

Focused says, "After you resolve an attack or attribute test, you must discard this card."

Doesn't that mean it doesn't go away until completing ALL steps of the attack?

Look up "Focus" on pg 12 of RRG

  • If a figure has the “Focus” keyword, it may become focused after attacking.

So since you were focused when you started the attack, you both lose and gain the focus condition at the end of your attack.

Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

Focused says, "After you resolve an attack or attribute test, you must discard this card."

Doesn't that mean it doesn't go away until completing ALL steps of the attack?

Look up "Focus" on pg 12 of RRG

  • If a figure has the “Focus” keyword, it may become focused after attacking.

So since you were focused when you started the attack, you both lose and gain the focus condition at the end of your attack.

Yup, specifically RRG 9

"When Rebel players wish to resolve multiple effects at the

same time, they collectively decide the order of resolution."
So you can resolve gain and losing focus in the right order after resolving an attack.