Dominator

By Replicant253, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Can you apply the Dominator's ability per attack or is the two shield limit for both attacks? I am leaning towards the latter but the card is slightly ambivalent.

As way of example. I had a game last night where a nebulon b took two attacks from the dominator vs1, one from front arc and one from port side. First attack I took two shields from the starboard side to add two blue dice. Second attack I took the last shield on the starboard side and the one shield on the aft section to add two blue dice.

This came into his aft section after a hyperspace assault which narrowly allowed me to one turn destroy the neb b. Now feeling annoyed with my self that I may have done that unfairly.

Cheers.

The card puts no such restrictions on its use, so you can spend 2 shields on both attacks if you want (giving a total of 4 extra blue dice). The down side of course is that you have burnt 4 of your shields so you need to use the ability wisely.

Edit: And remember, engineering commands occur before you attack you you can't repair (with token or dial) until the next round. However, combining a ConFire with Dominator can be devastating.

Edited by Ghost Dancer

adding to this thread... can she buff her anti squadron rolls? (obviously needing to do this on a squad by squad basis if yes)

adding to this thread... can she buff her anti squadron rolls? (obviously needing to do this on a squad by squad basis if yes)

Huh. The card doesn't have any ship/squadron restriction listed, so I would assume that it is indeed valid to use against squadrons.

adding to this thread... can she buff her anti squadron rolls? (obviously needing to do this on a squad by squad basis if yes)

Yes

couple this with Gunnery officer and you have one lethal combination; couple that with the forward arc and overload pulse and rebel ships just cease to exist.

couple this with Gunnery officer and you have one lethal combination; couple that with the forward arc and overload pulse and rebel ships just cease to exist.

Very powerful indeed.

Edited by Wildhorn

Yes, but I'm fairly certain it's a on a per attack basis. So you could indeed burn two shields to have three anti-squadron dice ... but only against one squadron, even if more are in your arc, since you are rolling multiple attack rolls, and not just one against all.

couple this with Gunnery officer and you have one lethal combination; couple that with the forward arc and overload pulse and rebel ships just cease to exist.

Just to be clear....overload pulse on another ship? Or are you firing side arc first for the effect? Because the ion effect would take place after your attack roll....only benefitting the next ship to fire, right?

What is the gunnery officer card? I don't mean to be sarcastic. I don't know cards tht aren't released for sale yet. If you mean gunnery team, don't foregt that you can't even target the same ship with that second shot. I only point this out because our group made this mistake early on.

Many Points to the OP for saying "port and aft". Good man!