Best Friends and stun

By Sieg2, in UFS Rules Q & A

ok Best Friends says "E commit a foundation: Your Stun attack gets +1 to its stun rating." now if and attack has stun:1 already and i give it stun: 2 i know i have to activate both as separate enhances, but does the foundation effect +1 both or just one? if i need to explain this more i will but i wanna know how good this foundation is.

If you give a card +X to it's sun rating it's just adding it on to the current number. So say you play Pommel Smash (Stun: 1), then you use Best Friends to make it Stun: 2, then you use the stun enhance ONCE to stun 2 cards. If you played a card with stun and played the stun ability then used Best Friend's you don't get to play the stun enhance again.

When a card gives a card Stun: X (ex: Yi Shan's Tiger Claw) then you play the stuns as separate enhances. So in this case you would play Pommel Smash (Stun: 1), then use the stun enhance to stun one, then use Yi Shan's Tiger Claw to give the Pommel Stun: 1 again, then you would play the second stun enhance to stun another card.

So adding to the stun rating just increases the number of the attacks stun enhance and giving a card Stun: X is giving an attack a whole seperate stun enhance (so it really has two stun enhances on the one attack instead of just making the one stun enhance larger). I think that's what you were asking?

It would only be a single instance of +1. Best Friends just checks to see if the attack has a stun enhance; if it does then the attack gets +1 to one of the stuns if it doesn't then no +1.

For your example to work the card would have to be more specific such as +1 to stun for every instance of stun on the attack. As far as I know there has never been a situation were a card gave a bonus dependent on the number of instances of any one keyword ability.

This does bring up an interesting situation for me. Kanzukiryu Kakutojutsu gives either +1 or -1 to all keyword abilities. If an attack that has a multiple enhance gains another multiple enhance, is the new multiple enhance affected by Kanzukiryu?

ok Jdub here's my example:

I play Pommel Smash.

My First enhance is Paul's Gi to give my attack stun:2. (so now my attack has stun:1 and stun:2)

my opponent passes their enhance (im just saying this to keep it simple).

Now i commit one foundation for Best Friends to give my stun attack +1 to its stun rating.

so now that pommel has stun:1 and stun:2 and i havent used either just one gets the bonus or both? i know i use both stuns as separate enhances i just need to know how to bonus works.

You pick one of the "Stun ratings" to give the bonus to.

So in your example you could make the attack Stun:2, Stun:2 or Stun:1, Stun:3.

If it read instead "Your stun attack gets +1 to its stun rating (s) " then it would buff both.

I'm not 100% sure but I think that when you give a card Stun: X (or Multiple: X, etc) it replaces the old value (if there was one). So if you played a card with Stun: 2 then gave it Stun: 1, it wouldn't be Stun: 2 Stun: 1 it would just be Stun: 1 now.

Nope. Different iterations of the same Keyword have been around for a while now. They just have to be played as separate Es.

-Tinman