Rules on "Landing" on a card

By wastedyuthe, in Talisman Rules Questions

Nice easy question for you guys-

If I move to a space where I draw an adventure card for the space (as there isn't one on there already), and it is the "pool of life" for example, which gives a player a life when ever he "lands" on it, does that mean I can collect a life straight away? Or do I put four life counters on the card on my space, because I technically didn't "land" on the card itself?

It is a little confusing, because with the Pool of Life as an example, why doesn't it tell you to take one for yourself, then leave another 3 on the card for the next visitors to land on it?

In most cases "land on" = encounter. IIRC, Thief is worded lands on, he can steal, ditto for Sorceress. There are a couple of exceptions that come to mind, Philosopher's ability to discard an already face-up and re-draw is one.

For Pool, Magic Stream, etc. you get 1 when you draw it.

Thanks Dam. I have been playing it so that when you draw one of these cards, you don't take a life/strength/craft straight away because the card was drawn, not landed on. But the rules do state that we must encounter adventure cards drawn, so I wanted to be clear.

Mentioning the Assassin for a second, the rule I am giving him of only being able to assassinate face-up cards will still apply then, even though he effectively IS landing on a card he draws from the pack (it is not face-up on the board, therefore the enemy attacks him). Right?

wastedyuthe said:

Thanks Dam. I have been playing it so that when you draw one of these cards, you don't take a life/strength/craft straight away because the card was drawn, not landed on. But the rules do state that we must encounter adventure cards drawn, so I wanted to be clear.

Mentioning the Assassin for a second, the rule I am giving him of only being able to assassinate face-up cards will still apply then, even though he effectively IS landing on a card he draws from the pack (it is not face-up on the board, therefore the enemy attacks him). Right?

Hi Wastedyuthe,

All cards that you draw are face up..

I have the feeling that if you draw 3 cards, and the first one is a enemy, that you have the other two face down..( do you play it that way?

So i want to make sure that if you draw cards, you place them all face up, but you encounter it by numbers, or by order that you have drawn..etc

Velhart said:

Hi Wastedyuthe,

All cards that you draw are face up..

I have the feeling that if you draw 3 cards, and the first one is a enemy, that you have the other two face down..( do you play it that way?

So i want to make sure that if you draw cards, you place them all face up, but you encounter it by numbers, or by order that you have drawn..etc

It's not that I have any of them face down. It's if one of the cards tells me it can only be used by someone "landing on it", and if you should take it that you have "landed" on the card even though you haven't actually landed on it because you have just drawn it from the pack. Another example is the Healer who heals characters "landing" on him. I think I read somewhere on here that drawn cards are treated as ones that are on the space we land on already, and we are just finding out what they are. So in effect, we have indeed landed on any cards we draw from the adventure deck, correct?

wastedyuthe said:

Velhart said:

Hi Wastedyuthe,

All cards that you draw are face up..

I have the feeling that if you draw 3 cards, and the first one is a enemy, that you have the other two face down..( do you play it that way?

So i want to make sure that if you draw cards, you place them all face up, but you encounter it by numbers, or by order that you have drawn..etc

It's not that I have any of them face down. It's if one of the cards tells me it can only be used by someone "landing on it", and if you should take it that you have "landed" on the card even though you haven't actually landed on it because you have just drawn it from the pack. Another example is the Healer who heals characters "landing" on him. I think I read somewhere on here that drawn cards are treated as ones that are on the space we land on already, and we are just finding out what they are. So in effect, we have indeed landed on any cards we draw from the adventure deck, correct?

Yes, you can say that my friend..

When i bought the revised edition, i also did not know if you can visit the pool of strength etc if you draw it from the deck, but John goodenough said, that ( landing =encountering, so i stick to that..

as you said, we are just finding out what happens in that place, but it is there already, but we can't see it, so we draw adventure cards to see what going on there..

Off course, you can see cards that already laying there, but it's just a example.. ( same as you said gui%C3%B1o.gif

( and now that i think about the example of the pool of strength, i realisch that there is no difference with enemies too..( about the assassin)

the assassin knows already that the enemies are there, but we can't see them because we must draw them..

Maybe that this is the reason for FFg to make that rule..

Velhart said:

Yes, you can say that my friend..

When i bought the revised edition, i also did not know if you can visit the pool of strength etc if you draw it from the deck, but John goodenough said, that ( landing =encountering, so i stick to that..

as you said, we are just finding out what happens in that place, but it is there already, but we can't see it, so we draw adventure cards to see what going on there..

Off course, you can see cards that already laying there, but it's just a example.. ( same as you said gui%C3%B1o.gif

( and now that i think about the example of the pool of strength, i realisch that there is no difference with enemies too..( about the assassin)

the assassin knows already that the enemies are there, but we can't see them because we must draw them..

Maybe that this is the reason for FFg to make that rule..

Thank you Velhart and Dam for the confirmation. The first time I played this (and the last few times I played the 3rd edition, I did indeed play it wrongly, placing the fountain of strength down with all four counters and not taking one, believing I couldn't take one because I didn't actually "land" on the card physically.

I did have that doubt in my mind, hence asking on here. And I am glad I did ask, because at least I have been able to play it properly now. It never made sense that I placed it on my space but I couldn't take one.

I know what you are saying about the Assassin too. As we have discussed, I don't think it matters who attacks who. FFG have allowed him to assassinate any creature he encounters, and it makes no difference if landing on face-up cards or drawing them from the deck- both instances are the same situation. That creature was effectively on that square one way or the other. After my last game beating the Assassin easily, I am not too bothered about that now anyway, and am more convinced he is balanced well enough.

Cheers guys.

You know, as the Pool of Life saw table time today, I took a quick read of the card. Didn't see anything about "land on", it used the word visit.

Dam said:

You know, as the Pool of Life saw table time today, I took a quick read of the card. Didn't see anything about "land on", it used the word visit.

Yes, but you can visit everything because you land on the card

Land on =encounter

It's just a word so you know what it means..

If you draw a marsh, you encounter it because you land on it gui%C3%B1o.gif

Velhart said:

Yes, but you can visit everything because you land on the card

Land on =encounter

It's just a word so you know what it means..

If you draw a marsh, you encounter it because you land on it gui%C3%B1o.gif

What if you draw Marsh AND Magic Stream gui%C3%B1o.gif ? Displacement Spell can often have fun uses like that, put Marsh on one of the stat boosting Places, if you can't get past Marsh in Str, you can't get Str from MS. Today Displacement was used to move Idol under the Death Knight, who had popped out due to the Dark Denizens Event (actually 2 DDs were drawn today).

Dam said:

Velhart said:

Yes, but you can visit everything because you land on the card

Land on =encounter

It's just a word so you know what it means..

If you draw a marsh, you encounter it because you land on it gui%C3%B1o.gif

What if you draw Marsh AND Magic Stream gui%C3%B1o.gif ? Displacement Spell can often have fun uses like that, put Marsh on one of the stat boosting Places, if you can't get past Marsh in Str, you can't get Str from MS. Today Displacement was used to move Idol under the Death Knight, who had popped out due to the Dark Denizens Event (actually 2 DDs were drawn today).

Then you visit both gui%C3%B1o.gif

In order words, you land on both of them, and must encounter the cards.

In hindsight, not the best example, as doing the cards alphabetically means you get +1 Str from MS before you're checked against Marsh. The encounter that which was drawn first might work if drawn at the same time, but once the board is full of ditched Talismans and such, gets harder to remember. But Maze and Pool of Life in the same space, need Craft 5 (IIRC) or be Dwarf to get the benefit from Pool.

Dam said:

In hindsight, not the best example, as doing the cards alphabetically means you get +1 Str from MS before you're checked against Marsh. The encounter that which was drawn first might work if drawn at the same time, but once the board is full of ditched Talismans and such, gets harder to remember. But Maze and Pool of Life in the same space, need Craft 5 (IIRC) or be Dwarf to get the benefit from Pool.

I place always the the cards in the following order by number and order of drawn cards.

If a place card is already laying on the board and you draw another place card, then i place them under the card that is already laying on the board, and that's the order you encounter.

What if you use Displacement (or two, I think there are 2 in the Spell deck) and move another Place to a space with a Place? Especially in your games, where things are still on-going after 3+ hours gran_risa.gif .

I also prefer to spread the cards around, fill as much of the space as possible.

Dam said:

What if you use Displacement (or two, I think there are 2 in the Spell deck) and move another Place to a space with a Place? Especially in your games, where things are still on-going after 3+ hours gran_risa.gif .

I also prefer to spread the cards around, fill as much of the space as possible.

We have finish our last game in 2 1/2 hour, because my Swashbuckler grows so fast in the dungeon .

If you use displacement on a place card and you move it to another space with a place card, then you must put the place card (that you just have tranfered )under the place card that is already laying there..

In the only game Swashbuckler has been in, he visited the Tavern quite a bit, but always rolled a 1, which his ability boosted to 2, meaning battle with a farmer, meaning an extra turn most of the time gran_risa.gif .

Dam said:

In the only game Swashbuckler has been in, he visited the Tavern quite a bit, but always rolled a 1, which his ability boosted to 2, meaning battle with a farmer, meaning an extra turn most of the time gran_risa.gif .

My Swashbuckler has land a lot on fields and won several extra turns by winning in battles.

He also transported to the middle region where i have accept a quest from the warlock.

After that, i went into the dungeon, and he became very powerfull.

I have defeat the LOD and landed on the Crown for the first time ( by using this teleporting warp)

I have not visit the tavern in this game, due to the circumstances..

The Swashbuckler is a powerfull character but it's also fun to play with him .

Last two games, whenever a character has landed on Ruins for the first time in the game, the draw has been: Dragon + another Strength Enemy. Yesterday it was Dragon + Serpent (Str 11 total), today it was Dragon + Wild Board (Str 8). Mid-game those aren't so bad, when they happen on turn 1...

The philosopher clearly says: "whenever you land on faceup adventure cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw another card to replace it".... this my friend is not the same thing as If she draws a card and can discard this and draw another one..... if this is the case then both the philosopher and the prophetess has the same ability???? dont think so happy.gif . The driferrens is that the card must allready be on the board when the philosopher comes to the space, or else her ability dosent work. But the prophetess can do this.

Face-up= the card is already there.

But when you draw ex: the pool of life, you encounter it..... but its not already face up. its not the same thing for me. You can therfor take an strength point your self the very same turn happy.gif ...... this has been very clear to me for my 20 years long talisman life gran_risa.gif , got my first when i was around 12/14 years old.

But got the 4th edition 1 year ago. but still very mutch the same rules.

Fredrik Winde said:

The philosopher clearly says: "whenever you land on faceup adventure cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw another card to replace it".... this my friend is not the same thing as If she draws a card and can discard this and draw another one..... if this is the case then both the philosopher and the prophetess has the same ability???? dont think so happy.gif . The driferrens is that the card must allready be on the board when the philosopher comes to the space, or else her ability dosent work. But the prophetess can do this.

Face-up= the card is already there.

But when you draw ex: the pool of life, you encounter it..... but its not already face up. its not the same thing for me. You can therfor take an strength point your self the very same turn happy.gif ...... this has been very clear to me for my 20 years long talisman life gran_risa.gif , got my first when i was around 12/14 years old.

But got the 4th edition 1 year ago. but still very mutch the same rules.

And about the assasin.... in the last edition he could only assasinate the enemies/creatures/characther he lands on, NOT the ones he draws. In the new version(4th) he can do this, but i think this is wrong....... why, simple, how can you assasinate someone who is attacking you? assasinate is someone who is sneeking up behind you and kill you without your knowledge. If you look at the character he looks like he is hiding behind his cloak, trying to sneek, makes seen if you whant to assasinate someone, but if you are attact by a dragon who knows your there???? assasinate the dragon??? NO NO NO NO, wrong enfadado.gif