can a monk win a battle against a living statue
hands of monk
What does living statue say?
Too lazy to check now..( it's late..)
Velhart said:
Too lazy to check now..( it's late..)
You stole my line
!
Maybe he means that one monster (too early to start checking) where Weapons don't work, only Weapons that are Magical Objects. I'd say the Monk works, his ability doesn't count as a Weapon (or else he couldn't use it).
Okay, bad form following one's own post with another, but...
Saw the Living Statue in the game today, it says if you beat it in battle, but didn't use a Magical Object Weapon, it counts as a stand-off. I think Priest and Monk can't defeat the LS in battle.
Dam said:
Okay, bad form following one's own post with another, but...
Saw the Living Statue in the game today, it says if you beat it in battle, but didn't use a Magical Object Weapon, it counts as a stand-off. I think Priest and Monk can't defeat the LS in battle.
I think also that it is not possible ( they need spells to get rid of that guy..
Sorry to steal your line
i think i have like the text and it was inside my head..
Yeah i would agree with that ruling, but it seems pretty jacked that the monk cant beat something on the board....
ok, in my game, we allow monk to cast enchant weapon on is hand
thank you for you attention
In the last game that I played, I came across that scenario (I was the monk and there was a Living Statue on the board). We were contemplating making a house rule that either 1) The Monk's attack was considered using a "magic object" for the purposes of fighting enemies that need such or 2) That the monks attack is considered a weapon for the purpose of using the Enchant Blade spell on.
Gelmaron said:
In the last game that I played, I came across that scenario (I was the monk and there was a Living Statue on the board). We were contemplating making a house rule that either 1) The Monk's attack was considered using a "magic object" for the purposes of fighting enemies that need such or 2) That the monks attack is considered a weapon for the purpose of using the Enchant Blade spell on.
We have a lot of house rules. And, we're revising them constantly as I make my way through this forum (for my friends, reading a board is "too much like work", sigh, but anyhow). This actually came up. Now, keep in mind, we believe in rule consistancy, house rules or not. And, we take the game much more like an adventure D&D game than a boardgame. That being said...
We said that the monk's hands were neither an object, nor magical. Monk is S.O.L. against the Statue, etc.. Why?
If his hands are considered weapons / magic weapons when it comes to the statue, then they are considered weapons when it comes to the Slime (or slime mist, whatever the card is). Slime melts the weapons. I.e. if we'd ruled that his hands are weapons, then, hitting a acidic metal dissolving slime would... melt the monks hands... meaning he could no longer add his Craft in combat. Since, this being a house rule, there is no way for him to "unmelt" his hands, they aren't weapons. And yes, we know the Slime card says "discard" but we don't like it when a game mechanic prevents a logical outcome (like, say, running out of purchase cards, but that's just us.)
So, no magic object hands for the monk for us.
P.S. In all honesty, it was my wife that vetoed the idea. The visual of seeing a monk, running around the board, with 2 melted stumps for hands as a result of his slime fight... was too intense for her to enjoy, heh. Or, in her words... "OMG... GROSS! NO!!!"