good claiming rune sword

By Golddragon2, in Talisman Rules Questions

can a good caracter, after winnig a combat , claim the rune sword for is reward and ditch on the ground

GolddragoN said:

can a good caracter, after winnig a combat , claim the rune sword for is reward and ditch on the ground

No,

good characters cannot take, steal or pick up the rune sword.

If you draw that sword and you are good, then you ditch it automatic unless you can change your alligment with a druid staff etc

Velhart said:

GolddragoN said:

can a good caracter, after winnig a combat , claim the rune sword for is reward and ditch on the ground

No,

good characters cannot take, steal or pick up the rune sword.

If you draw that sword and you are good, then you ditch it automatic unless you can change your alligment with a druid staff etc

So if you draw the sword you can change your alignment with staff right away before making a ruling on the item card or would you have to drop the item and then come back for it after you change your alignment?

Druid can respond to a card draw by changing alignment to benefit from the card, so I would say Druid Staff allows the same.

Msrushing said:

Velhart said:

GolddragoN said:

can a good caracter, after winnig a combat , claim the rune sword for is reward and ditch on the ground

No,

good characters cannot take, steal or pick up the rune sword.

If you draw that sword and you are good, then you ditch it automatic unless you can change your alligment with a druid staff etc

So if you draw the sword you can change your alignment with staff right away before making a ruling on the item card or would you have to drop the item and then come back for it after you change your alignment?

To make things clear..

If you draw or encounter a card, you can choose to change your allignment before you encounter the card.

BUT.. you can change your allignment only one time in a turn !

Velhart said:

To make things clear..

If you draw or encounter a card, you can choose to change your allignment before you encounter the card.

BUT.. you can change your allignment only one time in a turn !

The exact ruling is: you can voluntarily change your alignment only once in a turn.

Example : on the Ruins space you may draw Mephistopheles that converts you to Evil, then the Holy Lance and use your Druid Staff to become Good or Neutral, because the first alignment change was not your decision.

Best wording is: you may use this effect (Druid Staff or Druid ability) only once in a turn.

Velhart said:

BUT.. you can change your allignment only one time in a turn !

It depends on which edition you are playing. In the Revised 4th edition, there is no 'once per turn' limit on the Druid alignment changing ability. The wording is as follows:

"You may change your alignment at will. At any given time though, you can only be of one alignment. For example, if you are carrying the Runesword and you wish to pray at the chapel, you must ditch the Runesword."

Basically, the Druid's alignment is whatever they need it to be to benefit from a given situation. But they cannot benefit from situations that require different alignments at the same time.

Look at the following example:

The Druid lands on the Hidden Valley and draws three cards.

1) The first card is one that grants a wish to a good character. The Druid is Good for that card. If the Druid is carrying any items that a Good person cannot have (like the Runesword), then they would need to drop it.

2) The second card is one that grants a wish for an evil character. The Druid is evil for that card. If the Druid is carrying any items that an Evil person cannot have (like the Holy Grail), then they would need to drop it.

3) The third card is the Holy Grail. The Druid is good for the purposes of picking up that card. On subsequent turns, if a situation arises in which they benefit for being Evil, then they would need to drop the Holy Grail.

Editted to correct a quoting error.

Gelmaron said:

Velhart said:

BUT.. you can change your allignment only one time in a turn !

It depends on which edition you are playing. In the Revised 4th edition, there is no 'once per turn' limit on the Druid alignment changing ability. The wording is as follows:

"You may change your alignment at will. At any given time though, you can only be of one alignment. For example, if you are carrying the Runesword and you wish to pray at the chapel, you must ditch the Runesword."

Basically, the Druid's alignment is whatever they need it to be to benefit from a given situation. But they cannot benefit from situations that require different alignments at the same time.

Look at the following example:

The Druid lands on the Hidden Valley and draws three cards.

1) The first card is one that grants a wish to a good character. The Druid is Good for that card. If the Druid is carrying any items that a Good person cannot have (like the Runesword), then they would need to drop it.

2) The second card is one that grants a wish for an evil character. The Druid is evil for that card. If the Druid is carrying any items that an Evil person cannot have (like the Holy Grail), then they would need to drop it.

3) The third card is the Holy Grail. The Druid is good for the purposes of picking up that card. On subsequent turns, if a situation arises in which they benefit for being Evil, then they would need to drop the Holy Grail.

Editted to correct a quoting error.

Hi,

you're interpretation of the Character card wording looks correct, but this question has been asked a lot of posts before in this section. The "Talisman Rules & Faqs archmage" (username: talismanamsilat) has given the official interpretation of Druid (and Druid Staff) change alignment for Revised 4th edition.

Unfortunately FFG have not released a Talisman FAQ yet (I really don't know what they're waiting for... Frostmarch?), there won't be so much debate on the same topics otherwise. If you have an official interpretation you choose to agree or not, but at least there won't be confusion about how to interpret a statement.

Revised 4th edition is slowly reaching one year of existence and some of the very first FAQs have been forgotten by non-resident users. I forgot some answers too. It's definitely time to issue the FAQs!!!!

Gelmaron said:

It depends on which edition you are playing. In the Revised 4th edition, there is no 'once per turn' limit on the Druid alignment changing ability.

Oh RLY?

"No character, including the Druid, may change Alignment
more than once in any turn." (p. 15)

Gee mister, looks like Druid is specifically mentioned in the rules regarding alignment change. And has a limit too.

Dam said:

Gelmaron said:

It depends on which edition you are playing. In the Revised 4th edition, there is no 'once per turn' limit on the Druid alignment changing ability.

Oh RLY?

"No character, including the Druid, may change Alignment
more than once in any turn." (p. 15)

Gee mister, looks like Druid is specifically mentioned in the rules regarding alignment change. And has a limit too.

Yeah, I remember now, theFAQ I was quoting was about Events that force the Druid to change Alignment (i.e. Mephistopheles). He's ability to change Alignment is not wasted if he's forced to change; he may voluntarily change Alignment once in a Turn. But if you're forced by Events there's no real limit to that.

Let's say you draw Mephistopheles and someone casts you an Alignment Change Spell (might show in future expansions)... you change Alignment twice.

The word "may" specifically refers to a decision. It's not written that a Character cannot change Alignmen more than once in any turn.

This is just to make things clear... I need to start from the basics sometimes, because I play Talisman less often that I wish to.

Dam said:

"No character, including the Druid, may change Alignment
more than once in any turn." (p. 15)

Gee mister, looks like Druid is specifically mentioned in the rules regarding alignment change. And has a limit too.

I see. My mistake. I apologize. I was just looking at the character cards only, because I recall the character card itself stating the "once per turn" limit and since the 4th edition (revised) Druid card did not state this, I concluded that the rule was dismissed. However, as I go through my various editions of Talisman, I see that it was way back in the 3rd edition that the Druid card stated "once per turn".

I am sorry, but it is the product of being a gamer with so many games, rules, editions, etc, that it is easy to get rules confused or cross-reference.

Thank you for pointing out the correction. I would edit my previous post to avoid future readers recieving my mis-information, but my post has already been quoted.

Gelmaron said:

Thank you for pointing out the correction. I would edit my previous post to avoid future readers recieving my mis-information, but my post has already been quoted.

And of course these "wonderful" forums allow editing only after a few minutes. At least unless it's changed in recent times.

Dam said:

And of course these "wonderful" forums allow editing only after a few minutes. At least unless it's changed in recent times.

I don't think that I understand the meaning of your post, or at least the point that you are trying to make. . .

That after a few minutes, you can't even edit your post, even if you wanted to. I think the edit time limit was 5 minutes or something at one point, after that, no editing.

I see what you mean. I have read these forums on occasion (usually to settle debates during gameplay, because Talisman is the board game that my gaming group plays the most gui%C3%B1o.gif ), but I have not actually started making posts until recently. So I am still getting used to the format. Thank you for that information.

Talisman is neck and neck with Middle-Earth Quest for me this month so far (and looks like this will be a Talisman/MEQ month all the way), adding Dungeon got interest back up after a 5 month break.