Need to Destroy

By Dokurorider, in UFS Rules Q & A

I was just wondering, if an attack receives a keyword ability during the enhance step (for example E: This attack gets Multiple:1) will it receive the +1/-1 from Need to Destroy?

I assume you are looking at a card like Double Face Kick, Phoenix Smasher, or the like.

From what I can read, the keyword would not be affected, because it is not there when Need to Destroy goes off. It is not like Japan's Best, where it increased all the ratings by a certain amount for the rest of the turn. It is a one shot deal, increasing or decreasing all (existing) keywords by 1.

-Tinman

I just wanted to know if there is a rulling on this one way or the other. Antigoth, if would you please. Gives puppy eyes for answer sad.gif

2.14.2.4 Multiple
Multiple: X (Enhance) - E Discard up to X momentum: Place the momentum discarded to pay for this ability face down into your card pool to the right of the Multiple attack.

As multiples are not played, Tinman is correct. The trigger for Need to Destroy's response is "after an attack is played".

As a side note if a card is played that does not yet have a keyword but could gain one later in the enhance step (i.e. the Multiple: 2 received through the combo enhance on Execution Technique Third Rite), that not-yet-received keyword cannot be increased or decreased by Need to Destroy as it does not exist at the time of NtD's response trigger.