Enemies now Friends + Gut Drill + War Between Sisters = headache?

By guitalex2008, in UFS Rules Q & A

Gut Drill is a 4M4 punch which plays itself if discarded by the opponent.

Enemies now Friends is a foundation whose E is...

E Commit: This attack gets -2 damage. If this attack deals damage, the next attack played this turn gets +4 damage.

Which is obviously fun half blocking attacks (or blocking throws) then playing reversals, and one of those is Gut Drill, which would normally not cause any sort of conflict EVER.

That is, unless your opponent decides to use War Between Sistahz and makes you discard a card.

Enough backstory. HERE is when the question begins.

What happens in these three situations? What is the damage on Gut Drill at the beginning of its enhance step?

A) Your opponent plays an attack, passes on E, you play Enemies now Friends, your opponent uses War Between Sisters to make you discard a card, you discard Gut Drill, it is played, original attack deals damage. Gut Drill's damage at the beginning of its enhance step is ___.

B) Your opponent plays an attack, uses War Between Sisters, you discard Gut Drill, you play Enemies now Friends, original attack deals damage. Gut Drill's damage at the beginning of its enhance step is ___.

C) Your opponent plays Wipe The Floor, uses its Void E, you use Enemies now Friends, Wipe the Floor deals damage and for some God-forsaken reason your opponent decides to say Gut Drill and it is discarded. Gut Drill's damage at the beginning of its enhance step is ___.

guitalex2008 said:

Gut Drill is a 4M4 punch which plays itself if discarded by the opponent.

Enemies now Friends is a foundation whose E is...

E Commit: This attack gets -2 damage. If this attack deals damage, the next attack played this turn gets +4 damage.

Which is obviously fun half blocking attacks (or blocking throws) then playing reversals, and one of those is Gut Drill, which would normally not cause any sort of conflict EVER.

That is, unless your opponent decides to use War Between Sistahz and makes you discard a card.

Enough backstory. HERE is when the question begins.

What happens in these three situations? What is the damage on Gut Drill at the beginning of its enhance step?

A) Your opponent plays an attack, passes on E, you play Enemies now Friends, your opponent uses War Between Sisters to make you discard a card, you discard Gut Drill, it is played, original attack deals damage. Gut Drill's damage at the beginning of its enhance step is __ 4 _.

B) Your opponent plays an attack, uses War Between Sisters, you discard Gut Drill, you play Enemies now Friends, original attack deals damage. Gut Drill's damage at the beginning of its enhance step is _ 4 __.

C) Your opponent plays Wipe The Floor, uses its Void E, you use Enemies now Friends, Wipe the Floor deals damage and for some God-forsaken reason your opponent decides to say Gut Drill and it is discarded. Gut Drill's damage at the beginning of its enhance step is _ 8 __.

A) Gut drill has already been played by the time the conditional effect of Frenemies (this atk deals dmg) checks to see if their atk has dealt dmg.

B) See above

C) Well I hope that whatever their God-forsaken reason was a good one cuz now you have met the condition for the effect to take place.

Basically the way that I would read it is that if their atk (or yours if you use it on yourself) has not dealt dmg yet then any atk played prior to it dealing dmg has no boost to their atk.

btw, gut drill (should) only be played for free if it is discarded from your hand. Discard (unless specified) means from your hand.

I thought if your opponent discarded it during their attack yours interupts theirs and is resolved first then theirs is resolved? I could be mistaken but I think that is how it was with big cyclone.

The current resolving attack will finish resolving, then you move on to the next attack in sequence.

Frenemies reads "If this attack deals damage, the next attack played this turn gets +4 damage." If Gut Drill is played before the attack deals damage, no bonus.