Rulings made at Gen Con USA

By Speedsta, in UFS Uk Forum

Hi all,

To make sure everyone's on even footing for the UK Nationals, I'd like to post here several rulings made at Worlds which are either recent rulings or not widely known:

Journey of Repentence : In order to use its response to a foundation being committed, this card creates its own response window which occurs after a foundation has been targeted but before it is committed (so, it doesn't protect assets, etc).

Torn Hero : This card has a functional errata of "R Discard 1 momentum: Before your opponent commits a card in your staging area, they commit this card instead" (so, it doesn't negate Amy's Assistance any more, etc).

Darkness Blade : Its enhance cannot be negated by The Red Lotus of the Sun (this is because its enhance simply sets up a floating effect, and doesn't inherently commit any cards).

Undercover Agent : Triggers from two uses of the same ability (not three, which is what the wording on the card suggests).

Block step : The control check should only be made after your opponent confirms they have no responses to play (e.g. Blood runs True).

Stand Off (& similar cards from Tekken) : When your opponent commits foundations to cancel the enhance, it is considered a cost rather than an effect, and such does not trigger Torn Hero, etc.

Fio : Your opponent only returns their momentum to their hand when their last card is placed into their momentum by Fio's ability. So, if Fio's ability triggers when your opponent already has no hand, no cards are returned to hand.

If any of the above are unclear (i.e. explained badly - I already know some of them make no sense at all), let me know and I'll go into more detail.

- Ross

Speedsta said:

Stand Off (& similar cards from Tekken) : When your opponent commits foundations to cancel the enhance, it is considered a cost rather than an effect, and such does not trigger Torn Hero, etc.



happy.gif

cheers for all the confermation rulings!

Theo

well there is are answer for that problem we where having theo, i take it it means the same thing with finacial troubles even though it says discard.

thank you

CrazyElf

Yes, you can use your character for effects like Stand Off and Financial Troubles, as the tournament rules say character cards can be used to pay any cost of committing a foundation (provided it is an actual cost rather than an effect like stun, & if the ability references a foundation, e.g. Darkhunter of the Night, you get no effect).

The reason it is a cost is, if it were an effect, it would negate itself and you get an infinite loop of "it's negated, so it's not negated, so it's negated", etc gran_risa.gif